PDA

View Full Version : January 2014 Entry - Steampunk Risk

timallen
01-09-2014, 12:17 AM
OK, I'll give this one a shot. I dont have nearly enough talent to come up with an original game (if I could I would design games for a living!), but I should be able to make something out of Risk. I still haven't gotten tired of Steam-punk, so I think I will try to make up a steampunky Risk game. So far I have a basic map. Now I need to detail it, come up with card backs and card fronts, and counters and player mats and rules. Noooo problem...:mrgreen:

### Latest WIP ###

Cunning Cartographer
01-09-2014, 04:44 AM
It would have been nice to see a variation on the world itself and different shaped/named territories (keeping the same bordering countries, but not having it look so much like the earth we know) due to the idea that if we were a Steampunk world then I'm sure the border and countries wouldn't be as they are (plus it would make your game/map more original). Secondly I don't think the text sits particularly well on the map, though typography isn't my strong point either I just know it looks a little rough.

As for the actually map, it looks really great. I love the effects on the borders and the textures work really well and I look forward to seeing how the detailing works out.

Carbus
01-09-2014, 08:50 AM
I agree with Yospeck with the typography choice, If it`s bad seeing it digitally, when you print it it will look worse!
Take a look at these: Steampunk Font - A Collection of Free Steampunks Fonts (http://www.steampunkfont.com/)
Also with a different variations of the borders, or who knows maybe a new world with new countries, regions, etc, just to keep the idea fresh, and no another Earth-based Risk!

Other than that, I really like the style and colors!

timallen
01-09-2014, 10:56 AM