PDA

View Full Version : Tower at the end of the world WIP

madcowchef
02-14-2014, 10:15 PM
Here is my current project, I tried to save some along the way as I think progressions are interesting to see. I got a good ways into it over the last of day and a half, but now I am stuck on the style of the rocky hills/outcroppings whatever you wish to call them. I studied some other folks maps to get ideas on the styles out there and am considering a couple. The map itself will be of a rocking outcropping on the edge of the world (the water drops off the edge there and this sticks out beyond it). It will feature several locations as well as an outsized tower that will dominate the second raised plateau. I gave the three styles I'm considering numbers. I like all of them to an extent but fear that #1 might look out of scale as these aren't massive mountains, #2 has an angularity I'm not sure matches the rest of the features of the map, and #3 is OK but I find it less eye catching than the others. If none of these styles work I'd love to be pointed to some other suggestions. Thanks for all the great criticism on my projects.

Conceptualization

Landiness

Clifftastic

Yarg I'm stuck

Domino44
02-14-2014, 10:48 PM
I don't think I have the answer for your mountains but I really like what you have so far, I really like the layout of your map. But as far as your mountains go I'm not a big fan of any of the ones you have on those maps. Your concept is so cool though! :)

madcowchef
02-15-2014, 01:12 AM
Hmm I did a second batch. I currently favor #7, the general complexity seems best in line for the rest of it.

Azelor
02-15-2014, 01:22 AM
Does it supposed to look hellish ?

I like 7 better but 1 was also good. 5 and 6 remind me of tentacles...

Diamond
02-15-2014, 02:23 AM
I'm with Azelor; I like 7 best, but 1 has something cool going on too.

Scoopz
02-15-2014, 10:53 AM
I like 5 the best, seems more EVIL to me. And lets be honest, if it's frozen over it's probably evil. Right?