PDA

View Full Version : (WIP) Overland Map

tribalxgecko
03-20-2014, 08:48 PM
Let me state upfront that I am a newb at this. But needing maps for a Pathfinder game I run, I figured I might as well start learning. Anywho, this is a map I have in progress. Back in 1998 I drew the original map for a campaign I ran. 16 years later I was cleaning out the attic and there it was, stuffed in a paper protector sleeve at the bottom of a trunk. So, instead of starting from scratch, I figured that would make a great jumping point for a map I needed. But the more I looked at it, the less impressed I was. So, I took a picture of the section I needed (it is actually 12 sections in size), slapped it into GIMP, and went to town. This is what I have so far. This map is actually for a sky realm, where the clouds are 'islands' floating around. Down below is a massive void of red, black, and gray swirling fog (they have no idea what is down there). But yeah, like I said, first try doing this on the comp, so be nice ;P I would love some input or ideas though. I am having a hard time trying to give it that 3d feel so that it looks like a floating island. I hope to put in some more texture too. I suppose I am having fun, so there is that at least. Thanks for looking.

madcowchef
03-20-2014, 09:14 PM
The area below is currently more of an eye drawer than your main map, I'd darken and desaturated it so its less of a focal point. The rocks under the land mass could be textured and shadowed to help give depth. Your very consistent in your perspective with the land trees and mountains, I think that is working good for you. I'm looking forward to seeing it with the water features in.

tribalxgecko
03-20-2014, 11:41 PM