PDA

View Full Version : Making a continent in GIMP

bryguy
08-09-2008, 03:40 PM
I made this tutorial while figuring out how to make a GIMP version of ascensions Making a continent in photoshop tutorial. Some parts may be a little confusing, but I tried to make it fairly understandable :)

bryguy
08-10-2008, 12:22 AM
Im trying to figure out how to create a volcano. Im getting a pretty good result with my tries, and so far for my volcanoes they look something like this:

Ascension
08-10-2008, 10:31 AM
Lookin mighty fine there. I can only comment on the results as I am not a GIMP pro, but I'd say that this is pretty true to the way I had done mine so... excellent job so far. The volcano might need a lil tweaking still but otherwise it's all good. :)

bryguy
08-10-2008, 10:38 AM
Lookin mighty fine there. I can only comment on the results as I am not a GIMP pro, but I'd say that this is pretty true to the way I had done mine so... excellent job so far. The volcano might need a lil tweaking still but otherwise it's all good. :)

yea Im still working on the volcano, as it keeps looking wrong for some reason

Steel General
08-10-2008, 11:14 AM
Someone did a "tutlet" a while back on doing volcanoes, don't have time to look for it now. But it may be of some use, even though I believe it was created for GIMP.

bryguy
08-10-2008, 01:34 PM
Someone did a "tutlet" a while back on doing volcanoes, don't have time to look for it now. But it may be of some use, even though I believe it was created for GIMP.

i know that ascension did one, which i looked at, and helped me figure out some stuff, but the rest i have to figure out myself unless i can find the tutlet your referring to

bryguy
08-10-2008, 03:24 PM
Okay figured out how to make a pretty good volcano

ravells
08-10-2008, 06:23 PM
Very fine volcano indeed! Shouldn't the lava flows branch a bit? I'm not sure, I'm no expert.

Redrobes
08-10-2008, 07:35 PM