PDA

View Full Version : Simulating Layer Effects in Gimp



RobA
08-15-2008, 05:19 PM
Here is a script to simulate layer effects in Gimp. It is also available as a python plugin, which I would recommend, as it provides a preview button, and is a bit faster.

Link is here:
http://gimp.foebud.org/node/186

-Rob A>

bryguy
08-16-2008, 07:25 PM
okay i downloaded it and did what it said to, but nothing happened. Under Render: Clouds, I now have Fog, but that wont work at all, and thats it. Also, I thought that maybe getting a newer version might work, so I download version 2.4.6, but nothing worked on that

jfrazierjr
08-16-2008, 11:03 PM
okay i downloaded it and did what it said to, but nothing happened. Under Render: Clouds, I now have Fog, but that wont work at all, and thats it. Also, I thought that maybe getting a newer version might work, so I download version 2.4.6, but nothing worked on that

On the LAYER menu, submenu Layer Effects

bryguy
08-17-2008, 10:22 AM
nothin under layers either....


oh and what i meant when i said that v.2.4.6 wouldnt work, i meant that everything i try to do on it crashes

torstan
08-17-2008, 10:48 AM
I have to say that I'm with bryguy on this. I have downloaded the python plugin and placed it in the plugin folder and I do not get any Layer Effects sub-menu. My guess is that my windows XP system doesn't have python installed. Any ideas?

bryguy
08-17-2008, 10:55 AM
i have mac osx leopard, maybe thats why it wont work for me?


eh, maybe i should try the .scm....

RobA
08-17-2008, 12:52 PM
I believe I used this all-in one installer on my XP system:

http://photocomix-resources.deviantart.com/art/Gimp-Python-support-easier-74889017

No suggestions for osX, sorry :(

-Rob A>

bryguy
08-17-2008, 05:37 PM
still cant get the python one to work, but the scm one works great!

bryguy
08-17-2008, 05:40 PM
also, i started googling to see if i could find more scripts, and i found this:
http://www.gimphelp.org/script24.shtml

download at the bottom

Sagenlicht
08-25-2008, 08:44 AM
still cant get the python one to work, but the scm one works great!

maybe you have to reinstall GIMP, cause if you do a normal installation without having python and GTK installed on your system GIMP doesnt install everything you need for the python script to work.

Install everything from the link RobA provided, then reinstall GIMP and be sure to do a full installation. Afterwards the python script should work.

bryguy
08-25-2008, 10:14 AM
maybe you have to reinstall GIMP, cause if you do a normal installation without having python and GTK installed on your system GIMP doesnt install everything you need for the python script to work.

Install everything from the link RobA provided, then reinstall GIMP and be sure to do a full installation. Afterwards the python script should work.



i did the full installation the first time, and i found the python folders (quite a few actually for me) but that still didnt work. Oh well, i dont mind not having a preview

Karro
08-31-2008, 10:41 PM
I must not have Python installed either... (no preview... :( [sniff]). But the script-fu works well enough.

Interestingly, though, it doesn't appear as a submenu on the Layers menu, but under the Script-fu menu instead.

bryguy
09-02-2008, 11:44 AM
I must not have Python installed either... (no preview... :( [sniff]). But the script-fu works well enough.

Interestingly, though, it doesn't appear as a submenu on the Layers menu, but under the Script-fu menu instead.

yea it did the same to me..... okay actually it added a Script-Fu tab right after the Filters tab, but i dont mind :)

RobA
09-02-2008, 12:08 PM
I must not have Python installed either... (no preview... :( [sniff]). But the script-fu works well enough.

Interestingly, though, it doesn't appear as a submenu on the Layers menu, but under the Script-fu menu instead.

Only the python one would show up under layers.

-Rob A>

Karro
09-02-2008, 02:54 PM
yea it did the same to me..... okay actually it added a Script-Fu tab right after the Filters tab, but i dont mind :)

Well, yeah, that's what it did for me, too. I gather any other script-fus I DL will go here, as well.


Only the python one would show up under layers.

-Rob A>

Then that explains it. Thanks!

So, to make the python one work instead, I'd have to uninstall GIMP, install Python, then reinstall GIMP, is that right?


Somewhat related, I found when trying out the "overlay pattern" effect that the pattern selected within the effect's dialog box is not the pattern that is actually used when you execute the effect. Instead, at least for me, it uses the currently active pattern selected before the effect is launched.

RobA
09-02-2008, 03:14 PM
Well, yeah, that's what it did for me, too. I gather any other script-fus I DL will go here, as well.

It is actually up to the script author to pick where the script appears in the menus ("gets registered" in geek talk).

The Script-Fu menu is a bit of a throwback, and really, script authors should use the proper contextual location for what the effect does... It shouldn't manner to the use whether it is script-fu, python-fu or a compiled plugin, it should get registered where it makes sense (in this case, it SHOULD be in the Layers menu, IMOO)


Somewhat related, I found when trying out the "overlay pattern" effect that the pattern selected within the effect's dialog box is not the pattern that is actually used when you execute the effect. Instead, at least for me, it uses the currently active pattern selected before the effect is launched.

That sounds like a bug...(checking)

...OK on line 1177 of the layerfx.scm file:

(gimp-context-set-pattern origpattern)

should be

(gimp-context-set-pattern pattern)

-Rob A>

P4l1n0
07-07-2010, 10:42 AM
Hi

I just want to ask if this script-fu/python-fu is still needed, as I found some layer filters in my GIMP 2.7.1

RobA
10-19-2010, 10:11 AM
Hi

I just want to ask if this script-fu/python-fu is still needed, as I found some layer filters in my GIMP 2.7.1

I don't have 2.7.1 but my understanding reading the docs is that you get layer groups. No layer effects like PS yet (which should come once GEGL is in the core for layer blend modes). SO the add-on (script-fu or python) is still handy.

-Rob A>