PDA

View Full Version : The Köppen–Geiger climate classification made simpler (I hope so)

Azelor
07-23-2014, 01:03 PM
I see that lot of people have a hard time with their climates when they are creating their world. I'm not an expert, but I'm trying to make it simpler when it come to the climatic zones.

I used this as the main source of information : Köppen climate classification - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/K%C3%B6ppen_climate_classification)
But also other pages and some scientific articles. The information is there (most of it) but it's not very easy to understand. The first part I did was to collect the info on the wiki and also elsewhere to get a clear definition for each climatic zone: what it is but also where to place them: where they are the most likely to appear. It ended in something relatively complex and a long document.

note : My main goal was to find if there was a link between the climate and population density. And if so, to find what density would be for one specific climate.
I realized I had a serious issue with a state with similar climate to India and somewhat similar size but the population was about only 9 millions people. I did not make sense and I had no answers how to get population density numbers right.
I also happened to have no clear idea on where to place the climates. That's why I'm doing this, and hopefully I can work on the second part after this one is finished.

Real world data : http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=27782&page=3&p=277812&viewfull=1#post277812

The tutorial

Step 1,2,3(elevation, currents, air pressure): http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=27782&page=5&p=280255&viewfull=1#post280255
Step 4, winds: http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=27782&page=5&p=280316&viewfull=1#post280316
Step 5, temperatures: http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=27782&page=6&p=280821&viewfull=1#post280821