PDA

View Full Version : The Köppen–Geiger climate classification made simpler (I hope so)

Azelor
07-23-2014, 01:03 PM
I see that lot of people have a hard time with their climates when they are creating their world. I'm not an expert, but I'm trying to make it simpler when it come to the climatic zones.

I used this as the main source of information : Köppen climate classification - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/K%C3%B6ppen_climate_classification)
But also other pages and some scientific articles. Sadly, I wasn't able to find the original version of the classification other than in german but I can't read it. From what I understand the information on the wiki seems pretty solid but also very confusing. The information is there (most of it) but it's not very easy to understand. The first part I did was to collect the info on the wiki and also elsewhere to get a clear definition for each climatic zone: what it is but also where to place them: where they are the most likely to appear. It ended in something relatively complex and a long document. I still have some questions so I would like if someone could tell me what he thinks about it. By trying to make things simpler yet accurate I fear that I might be missing the boat.

Things left to do:
Find if others fantasy climates are possible
And possibly making some table/graphic

Questions :
Is the description of the climates ok ?
Temperature in degrees or by category?
East and west: is it possible to have it the other way around?
Wiki Color scheme wrong? it could be improved
Easy to understand?
would some infographiccs make it easier ?
[INDENT]I was considering making a map with the different latitudes of each climate, where they are usually located.
A graphic showing the maximum temperature yearly and by seasons for summer and winter (I just need to be sure my numbers are ok)
Make a table with climate characteristics (like in page 6 but with more info)