PDA

View Full Version : Question About Reputation

arakish
09-15-2008, 02:35 AM
I have been browsing around this forum site much more than posting. But I am a noob here. Although I have known of this site for quite some time, I just never joined as a member. Don't ask why, 'cause even I don't know.

I was reading some of the FAQs, misc, and Member's List.

Am I correct in assuming, that if clicked, the Member's list is resorted by that column header? And if I am correct in this assumption, why am I only 14 entries down on the third page?

I thought, according to the FAQs, repping couldn't just be thrown around. Although I have to admit, there are some members here worthy of my "repping" them. I haven't done any "repping" because of that warning in the FAQs.

I was just wondering, "How could I get such a high rep rating with so few posts and 12 pages of members?"

I know the relief maps I posted in my intro here (http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=2781) are quite old. The original files have a datestamp of 06/08/1993 and 06/22/1993. Making them 15 years old. And they were made with an ancient method I used in Paint Shop Pro version 4.

The more recent postings were made with some very expensive software suites which I can get free student versions for being in college. But I had to prove I was a student.

Please give me enlightenment as to why a rep can be that high, or ignore the flamboozled ramblings of a noob.

rmfr

Robbie
09-15-2008, 07:47 AM
Actually I'd like to see rep thrown around a bit more to be honest. There's a LOT of members here that have no rep really. But the numbers are an accurate reflection of the use of the rep system. The most popular recipients of rep being tutorial authors and givers-away of free ready to use stuff of course...and the occasional really unique style poster gets hit with the rep stick...