PDA

View Full Version : Castle Amber - Chapel

Steel General
09-24-2008, 09:44 AM
OK, this is my first attempt at a building and is in response to the thread here (http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?p=32491#post32491).

This is only 'bare bones', and is missing the Choir Loft, based on what I could gleam from the map provided. I don't have a copy of this module, so I have no idea what would be in any of the rooms.

If needed I can post versions without the grid and room numbers.

Gandwarf
09-24-2008, 10:26 AM
It's an ok map, I like the centerpiece a lot.
It's just a bit empty (but as you said yourself you don't know what you should put in the rooms) and flat. I like 3D maps more, so some shadows, bevels, etc.

Jkaen
09-24-2008, 11:12 AM
I agree it looks like you need more information before you can really do it justice, for example can you put benches down the length of the chapel? of light sources on the wall?

Steel General
09-24-2008, 11:34 AM
Well luckily I found a copy of the module that I was able to download, so I should be able to fill in some more of the details. From the little I glanced through it, it appears like I'll need to change some of what I have already.

Not quite sure how I should do shadows and beveling, I guess a lot of that will depend on how the lighting sources are arranged.

Jkaen
09-24-2008, 11:51 AM
Look forward to seeing how you approach this, I am still to make the leap indoors.

What software are you using for all this?

Steel General
09-24-2008, 04:17 PM
Pretty significant update here after getting a hold of a "HackMaster"-ized version of the module.

New floor; new carpet; added pews; added cots in Monk cells; added concealed door; added 'shadows' to the walls (not perfect, but definitely gives them some depth); replaced the existing windows with larger 'stained-glass' ones.

@JKaen - I'm using Photoshop. The majority of the objects, have been downloaded from the Dundjinni forums.

Jkaen
09-24-2008, 05:31 PM