PDA

View Full Version : Umbraland: Logo Design

PokealypseNow
10-15-2008, 08:57 PM
Disclaimer: This isn't a map, but I don't know where else to put cartographic related / tanget projects! If this needs to be moved, then by all means, mods, zap away.

"Umbraland" is the (current) name I'm giving my fantasy setting. As a web/graphic designer, I spend an unhealthy amount of time looking at logos and packaging (spent four or five minutes just investigating chewing gum packages at Safeway this weekend), it would be a shame for my own magnum opus to go without a sweet logo!

So, this will be my thread to showcase the logo as it evolves. Here it is so far at about 80% completion with the typeface (just got to clean it up and such) and maybe 25%-33% done with color and texture.

I am working towards having the logo look like a piece of metal being worked in a forge, so that's what's up with the general color schemes. Got a long way to go, though!

mmmmmpig
10-16-2008, 12:30 AM
Love the "L" to the "A" transition. I like the idea of the lower portion being hot and workable. I will be interested to see if you put this on a cartouche of some kind to really set it off from whatever product it is placed on.

PokealypseNow
10-16-2008, 02:01 AM
Thanks, Pig.

You got it, this will become the branded logo for all my maps and such. Gotta keep everything nice and cohesive, ya know?

loogie
10-16-2008, 08:16 AM