PDA

View Full Version : [Award Winner] Making Political Borders in CC3



NeonKnight
11-25-2008, 12:59 PM
Here is a quick tutorial to make Political maps in CC3.

PLEASE RATE THREAD IF YOU FIND IT USEFUL!

Steel General
11-25-2008, 01:40 PM
Nice job NK! Even though I don't use CC anymore it's still a well written, concise tutorial.

ravells
11-25-2008, 06:19 PM
Great job NK and a very nice tutorial too! Rated and repped (after I've spread a bit more rep around first)!

nolgroth
11-26-2008, 04:27 AM
I may or may not ever purchase CC3. If I do, I am sure this will help out a lot. Thank you. Rated thread.

Reladon
12-03-2008, 10:45 PM
Great instructions... I never noticed the "trace" option! :)

wes3352
03-27-2009, 09:01 PM
First of all thanks for the help it was a verry nice guide, however i am still having troubel spliting the contenint it seems to grab the hole thing if i use the border trace i wish you had broke that down a bit better.

NeonKnight
03-27-2009, 10:43 PM
What do you mean by 'splitting' the continent?

fargo3
05-31-2009, 05:23 AM
Great tip. I am a new user to CC3 and FT and this is exactly what I bought the programs to be able to do!

Thanks!

AmbienceTyro
10-10-2010, 04:27 PM
Uh, unless I'm missing something (likely) this is not working. Using the Border,Default drawing tool, some points stay where I click them, others seem to attach to other objects randomly on the screen. I just don't get what this is doing...

NeonKnight
10-10-2010, 07:24 PM
Hm, could be your Snap Settings maybe, not sure. Can you give me a little more information as to what you are doing exactly? Step by Step maybe?

Corejob
10-05-2011, 11:25 PM
This pdf file appear to be broken.

bartmoss
10-06-2011, 01:55 AM
This pdf file appear to be broken.

Works fine for me...

Corejob
10-06-2011, 02:14 PM
It appears to be a problem with the Opera web browser. Downloaded in IE just fine.

Uncleblob
05-15-2014, 12:24 PM
Hi NK

I am having a few problems with this too, I'll try and detail what's happening below. Before I start I have to say I can see what you are doing it's just clarification on some points I need as it doesn't seem to work as straightforward as the tutorial would seem. Also, I'm patched up to the latest version.

1. When you say draw the borders AWAY from features I don't know what you mean. I am trying to draw a border along a small test area of a map and doing so along a stretch of coast, into the interior and back to the start point, a roughly rectangular shape.

2. Trace feature; how? I click on a promontory of the coast to begin the border (having clicked border, default) then hit T to begin the trace. Do I re-click the same point as point to begin the trace, or the next point along, and so on, back to the start point to close the border? Do I ultimately right click to close the border? It keeps on throwing up random lines or selecting the entire coast and I don't know what I am doing wrong?

3. Path to Poly - I need more info on this. I have followed these steps and it immediately seems to select the entire border as an entity...and then all I can do is "Do it"...but it doesn't seem to do anything. The resulting map is NOTHING like the tutorial map. I get the border apparently selected and not filled in or anything like it.

This is as far as I can go so far.

Advice and help required!

Thank you in advance!

Uncleblob
05-17-2014, 11:01 AM
OK further to my post above, I'm still trying to get this working, and really have no idea why its not. The tutorial posts are just a little ambiguous at the moment. At the Fractalise -> Path to Poly Section, it appears that I already HAVE a closed border, once I finish directly drawing the border that I want (without using trace at all, may I add), I end up with a border, Dashed Line, with NO FILLED section at all!!!

I really have no idea where this is going wrong. I think I am following the steps successfully (without going near Trace ATM) and it simply does not work.

Uncleblob
05-17-2014, 11:17 AM
64168

This is what I've got, without touching Trace - just cant get it to work at all. No solid fill, cant get THAT to work as described, and Edge Fade Inner hides everything on Map so far.

Uncleblob
05-21-2014, 08:37 PM
First: I am aware that at the moment I am replying to myself, however I am hoping that anyone else using this tutorial will find the posts helpful.

TRACE: Once you first start your initial point for the border to begin, hit T. You will then be asked to select what you want to trace, so select the river or coastline as appropriate. At this point you can then select the initial point to trace from, as you move the cursor after clicking your start point the line will follow the feature until you click your end point. From here you can then add further nodes or traces as required. Try and place drawn borders or traces close to end points of others so that the Path To Poly action can function correctly. Several times when sections were too far apart I got spurious enormous lines and had to back up.

Still can't get entire sections to fill in colour nor border lines to neatly sit alongside others without totally drawing over the top of different coloured ones, WIP!

Uncleblob
05-25-2014, 10:36 AM
Yet another post:

The Trace now seems to be working or rather I now seem to be doing the Trace action correctly.

I've been looking round some other posts for tips or advice on what seems to be going wrong with the Path To Poly command. I don't know if its due to the version I am using or what exactly is the problem, but I've now seen in two or three other posts that the use of the Path To Poly command should create a filled polygon of the Colour selected in the menu bar. However, all I seem to get is a polygon line of this colour. When I amend fill style, or amend colour it doesn't do anything other than fill this actual line with the Fill Style selected. I don't know if I am doing something wrong or if its a program issue.

Anyone out there have any ideas?

UB

NeonKnight
05-30-2014, 04:18 AM
Hello, OK got your message. Need a short bit to look at what I wrote and then formulate an asswer. Been away awhile but I will return!

Uncleblob
05-30-2014, 08:26 AM
No worries, take your time. Work has gotten in the way of mapping for the last few days anyway!

The few minutes I have been able to scrounge have revealed that the Borders button will not as far as I can see allow Path To Polygon to create a filled polygon, but using the Path command WILL allow solid polygons to be formed as prospective territories. Duh. Sort of. Reading the tutorial it seems to suggest the Borders command will allow individually drawn border sections and traces to be joined up using path to poly to form solid polygons/countries.

Going to try again later, work permitting!

NeonKnight
05-30-2014, 11:31 AM
Hi NK

I am having a few problems with this too, I'll try and detail what's happening below. Before I start I have to say I can see what you are doing it's just clarification on some points I need as it doesn't seem to work as straightforward as the tutorial would seem. Also, I'm patched up to the latest version.

1. When you say draw the borders AWAY from features I don't know what you mean. I am trying to draw a border along a small test area of a map and doing so along a stretch of coast, into the interior and back to the start point, a roughly rectangular shape.

For this i mean, just click on the open landmass, away from any of the coasts, rivers, etc, so that you don't accidentally select on of them.


2. Trace feature; how? I click on a promontory of the coast to begin the border (having clicked border, default) then hit T to begin the trace. Do I re-click the same point as point to begin the trace, or the next point along, and so on, back to the start point to close the border? Do I ultimately right click to close the border? It keeps on throwing up random lines or selecting the entire coast and I don't know what I am doing wrong?

When you click the T for trace, the window at the bottom will ask you to select a point where you wish to trace. Click the cross hairs on the river, lake edge, coast, you should notice as you move the pointer, a gray line is now following along that other item (shore, river, other border, etc). The window at the bottom now asks for ending point location. Here you would simply move the cursor to the rough spot on the map you wish your border to stop following the feature, click the button, and you are back to free drawing the border.


3. Path to Poly - I need more info on this. I have followed these steps and it immediately seems to select the entire border as an entity...and then all I can do is "Do it"...but it doesn't seem to do anything. The resulting map is NOTHING like the tutorial map. I get the border apparently selected and not filled in or anything like it.

No and I know why. The border feature you are using places a thick line. The remedy is actually very simple. After doing the Path to Poly, select the CHANGE PROPERTIES button, and change the following:

COLOR - [Change to whatever color you would like this border to be.

FILL STYLE - Solid

LINE WIDTH - 0.000

And that one is the biggie. If the line is any other width other than 0, you would have an outline other than a solid polygon.



This is as far as I can go so far.

Advice and help required!

Thank you in advance!


Hopefully those answer should get you where you are looking to go.

Uncleblob
05-31-2014, 10:12 AM
Perfection! The Trace command I'd more or less figured out now, it was path to poly was getting me! Did what you described and badda Bing, one Voldan Empire springs into being!

I'd already Liked this and gave you rep, would that I could double it!

Many thanks for your help

UB

NeonKnight
05-31-2014, 04:02 PM
Glad I could help/

Josan1
06-24-2014, 07:10 PM
Hello! So i tried to do this tutorial and was able to ...get to the point where the area in the borders is red but...the sheet seems to not be taking to me making it translucent....I feel like i messed up somewhere and i don't know where

Uncleblob
06-30-2014, 09:14 PM
So when you have right clicked on path to poly it's generating a section in your chosen colour? At this point you need to go into the sheets and create a translucence which suits your taste.

I hope I have understood your problem ok