PDA

View Full Version : Question...



eoinmorgan
12-28-2008, 02:11 PM
So i just got cc3, and i want to start working on a campaign world for my dnd group.

First, I want to make a large scale world map that depicts all of the continents. Then, i want to detail each continent in its own map. However, I do not know of any way that i can copy and paste the landmass from the big map to the regional one without the coastlines becoming rigid after enlarging the landmass. I want to keep the natural feel...

So, does anybody know how to do this?

PS. if this is in the wrong section, sorry.

isomage
12-28-2008, 04:30 PM
I've never used CC3, but if you can export your maps, edit them in GIMP, and then import them again, check this out:
http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=1397

NeonKnight
12-28-2008, 05:23 PM
If you like there is a Demo Version of Profantasy's Fractal Terrains.

If you want to play with that and find a world setting you like, I would be happy to pump out a High Res/Quality verison of your settings to CC3/CC2.

waldronate
12-28-2008, 06:23 PM
In CC3, try the FRX command ( Edit>>Reshape>>Fractalise from the menu or the button shown below ) to add complexity to a path such as a coastline.

eoinmorgan
12-29-2008, 09:14 PM
I decided that it would be easy just to do each Continent by approximation of the orgional map, and then once thy are all coomplete export and combine them as one big file. However, can i do this and still keep the file as a cc3 file? I want to be able to edit the map and zoom in and out easily after i combine the pieces. Thanks.

loongtim
12-30-2008, 07:31 AM
Somewhere on the profantasy website is a very detailed tutorial on how to do this - it's been so long since I've read it that I can't remember all those details. They also have a mailing list that discusses these sorts of things and experts in all things CC3 will be happy help you out.

The other option is to just build your continents in a single map. Since it's a vector illustration, everything will scale when you zoom in or out. If you want to just print out one continent or region, go to File > Save As > Save as Type: Rectangular section JPEG. Click save and CC3 will make you box out the section you want to save. Do this for each region of your map.

If you want less detail on the world map, then put all your regional symbols on a separate set of layers and hide them (via the Layers dialogue box) when exporting the world map, and then show them again when doing the regional maps. Likewise, you could use a separate set of world map layers to make bigger symbols for the continent view and hide them when zoom in to regional views.