PDA

View Full Version : CC3 - Smoothing a Fractal



teije
01-09-2009, 03:47 PM
I have a big island where I've fractalized up the coastline something fierce using the Fractalize option. But it's gotten too fractal and I'd like to smooth it out again (remove some nodes I guess).

Is there any way to do that easily in CC3?

I don't have the original smooth coastline saved to go back to and I really don't want to have to redraw it...

thanks for any help - teije

Midgardsormr
01-10-2009, 03:05 AM
Easy. Right-click on the Fractalize button and choose "Remove Nodes." Click on the object, and you'll get a remarkably helpful dialog box that says "YES." Click OK, and you'll see the landmass get reshaped. I think it removes every second node, but I'm not 100% sure.

teije
01-10-2009, 07:32 AM
Thanks Midgarsomr - that sounds so obvious I'm not sure how I missed it (or maybe that's why I missed it!)

I'll try that out

~teije