PDA

View Full Version : Hello Everyone

Wilduck
01-14-2009, 04:27 PM
Hello everyone!

I've been lurking here for a few days and decided to post an introduction. As you can see, my screen name is Wilduck (pronounced Wild Duck), but I can also go by Ducky or Erik.

I've been using the gimp for a couple years, but have only recently gotten passably good at it. I looked through some of the tutorials here, and have already learned a lot. I've also just recently started making maps, and realized that I'm not very good at it.

So, I'm joining this forum with the hopes that I can learn a thing or two, and eventually contribute. Thanks everyone for the great site.

Ascension
01-14-2009, 04:33 PM
Glad to have ya hear. Contribute as ya want, just have some fun.

NeonKnight
01-14-2009, 04:41 PM
welcome to the Guild

Wilduck
01-14-2009, 04:50 PM
Thanks guys. Before I loose my newness here, I'm going to ask a quick question (It'd be great if someone could tell me where a question like this would belong in the future as well).

The mapping I'm planning on doing is for tabletop games, and so a lot of the maps need to have a 1"x1" grid on them. I've looked around a bit but haven't seen a tutorial or explanation of how to easily do this with gimp. If such a tutorial exists, could someone point me to it? Thanks so much.

Edit: I know that I would put this grid in a separate layer, organizing the rest of my layers so it shows through in the correct places and whatnot, I just don't know how to draw the grid, and make sure that it would be 1"x1".

Hoel
01-14-2009, 04:56 PM
There's actions for that you can download, or you can make a pattern. I'm sure there's a tut somewhere.
Welcome aboard btw.

jfrazierjr
01-14-2009, 05:07 PM
Thanks guys. Before I loose my newness here, I'm going to ask a quick question (It'd be great if someone could tell me where a question like this would belong in the future as well).