PDA

View Full Version : Teston

Korash
02-11-2009, 11:31 PM
this is a random town I am working on using pyrandon's Medieval Town Map tutorial (found here = http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=1150). So far I have reached post IV and just finished the river part of that post and it has taken about 3 hours to reach this stage. If this is slow or fast I have no clue as I am a relative noob with the prog. mapping, but I think it is faster than if I started from scratch. I am using Gimp for this so we will see how it turns out in the end ;).

As always, c & c more than welcome. I have given much advice of late, so turn-about is fair play :D

I will rate the tut after I am done, but I like it so far :)

:edit: After posting I realized that the res is real low (72) :( I really have to stop doing that. Any way in Gimp to set a higher res as default? I NEVER check that setting until after I have invested some time.......

Ascension
02-12-2009, 02:18 AM
Lookin good so far.

Fabrice
02-12-2009, 03:01 AM
I was only wondering... is there a reason why the city seems to avoid the main river? Excepted in the case of swamps, people would build along a river for the easy access to water as life necessity and as trade route. Moreover the bend in the upper left-hand corner would be ideal as natural fortification.

Or maybe you planned to have the city on a hill overlooking the river and the surrounding flatlands, the better to protect itself? Then the river bends would make perfect sense... Or maybe I should just let you go on with the tutorial and keep my comments for later :oops:

Good luck and have fun in your experimentations!

Hoel
02-12-2009, 05:00 AM
Looks based on RPG city gen. I do like the river. It's hand drawn, not generated with layer styles and such i presume?
I'll keep an eye on this one.
Where do you place your batteries?

Steel General
02-12-2009, 07:00 AM
Another one to keep an eye on...

Korash
02-12-2009, 12:30 PM