PDA

View Full Version : Glethhaven

valadaar
02-22-2009, 08:28 PM
This is my first attempt at a hybrid hand-drawn/computer processed map.

This right now is nothing more then a scan of my hand-drawn map with only the main rivers and primary mountain range drawn.

Haven't decided if I want to leave it black and white, but I'm too scared right now to put anything more in pen on this one, so thats why I'm continuing on in digital. Forests, etc, I have no figured out, but I'm happy with my hand-drawn mountains at this point.

If anyone is wondering, I used a .5mm Bic pen for this :P

The map is the main region where I am setting a play by post game...

valadaar
02-22-2009, 08:47 PM
Here's a style I'm playing with. Probably won't go with it, but its kind of neat.
Used the cutout style filter in Photoshop elements, along with some simplification with select by color and then flood-fill.

You will need to zoom in somewhat to see the effect.

Hoel
02-22-2009, 09:04 PM
I'm sceptic. The first map was much better. You should try hand drawing your icons, then clean them up and use them as a brush. That way you kan keep the awsome hand drawn style you have while not risking to mess up the original

jfrazierjr
02-22-2009, 09:41 PM
I agree... your first is far better to me because of the shading variations. The second could work on certain types of maps, but mostly I would much prefer the first in most maps.

Steel General
02-22-2009, 10:03 PM
Have to agree with the others, your first version is the preferred one for me.

valadaar
02-25-2009, 09:01 PM
Now I am trying to decide on a style for forest - there will be a lot of forest on this map. I'll post up some working ideas to see what you all think, and if you have any suggestions...

valadaar
03-16-2009, 09:19 PM
Trying a couple things here - the trees and hills are on separate layers, so can be removed/edited easily.

Thoughts? Keep going this way?

Ascension
03-16-2009, 09:35 PM
Yes. :) Looks great.

Steel General