PDA

View Full Version : Starting out, my first city (City Designer 3)

Mixpengo
04-26-2009, 04:49 PM
Hello everyone,

I am lurking this community for a few weeks now and inspired by Gandwarf's work I bought CC3 with CD3 extension. I am a software developer and not an artist, but this piece of software I bought is sure doing miracles, allowing me to get a decent result without a lot of effort.

I am trying to map a few of the cities for a web-based game I am working for. The current map shown below should represent the first city, where the players start. I envisioned first a city and quite some suburbs around it, but I am afraid that the final result will be a bit far of that. Nevertheless, the experience gained during this process is valuable and I would like to add to that the experience of the members of this forum willing to express their opinions about my city, how to proceed further, what is missing, what is wrong and so on.

Thanks a lot!

Gandwarf
04-26-2009, 04:58 PM
I am lurking this community for a few weeks now and inspired by Gandwarf's work I bought CC3 with CD3 extension.

Muhahaha, another spider in my web.

The current map shown below should represent the first city, where the player start.

Looking good so far. The layout of the city feels natural to me. Some other highlights: the castle, the little sandbanks in the river and the bridge (is that a symbol?).

Most of the houses look like they were made of wood, is that the effect you were going for?

Oh, watch out you don't make houses too pointy, like you did in the southeastern part of the city. That looks a bit unnatural as it wouldn't really be that practical.

Nomadic
04-26-2009, 07:57 PM
Very good map, other than what Gandwarf said it looks like a great start.

Muhahaha, another spider in my web.

You are about to get another here soon once I finish the current map commission I am working on. I think I am going to bite the bullet myself and get it.

Gandwarf
04-26-2009, 08:05 PM