PDA

View Full Version : screenshots?



pyrandon
05-04-2007, 11:53 PM
Hello, friends,

Can anyone recommend a good freeware program to take screenshots? I want to, in my next tutorial, include shots of my Photoshop setting screens. When I did a search for them, there are 2 billion applications for this of all different sizes, types, races, religions, & creeds! Any suggestions?

Thanks!

RPMiller
05-05-2007, 01:59 AM
I've heard good things about SnagIt, but beyond the free trial period you have to buy it.

http://www.techsmith.com/snagit.asp?CMP=KgoogleStmhome

Personally I just use ALT+Print Screen to capture dialog boxes and such without having to capture and crop out the desktop.

ravells
05-05-2007, 07:01 AM
I use print screen too, and then paste into PSP and crop to fit.

Ravs

pyrandon
05-05-2007, 10:02 AM
Oh! ALT+PrintScrn? I didn't know you could---

*Don stops himself, realizing he's proving beyond a doubt he's a technidiot..."

I mean, well yeah, of COURSE I use that too! EVERYBODY knows THAT.... :)


Hmm...If that's the case, why would anyone use a program for this same purpose?

Robbie
05-05-2007, 10:28 AM
Hmm...If that's the case, why would anyone use a program for this same purpose?

Because SnagIt and a lot of pay-screenshot programs will capture screenshots from programs that prevent or turn off printscreen and alt-printscreen. For example some video codecs resist the printscreen, and some full-screen games resist printscreen as well. But for what you're doing alt-printscreen would be fine...

Now...the difference is:

Printscreen - captures everything on your screen to the clipboard, pasted image is the same size as your screens resolution

Alt-Printscreen - captures only the currently active window or dialog to clipboard, pasted image is the same size as the currently active window, if maximized, it is the same size as your resolution.

Enjoy ;)

RPMiller
05-05-2007, 11:30 AM
:) No problem Don. I usually teach at least one person something new at my work everyday regarding the applications they use or Windows. I use to teach just about every common application and all the IT level stuff so I have an advantage. The biggest thing you can do is never forget about ALT CTRL and SHIFT and try them with various key combinations to see what will happen. Sometimes you can even use more then one.

There are some good websites out there that list all the various shortcut keys that can be used for various apps and OSs as well.

I'm just glad I could finally teach you something in exchange for all the stuff you've taught me. :D

ravells
05-05-2007, 07:47 PM
Wow...I've learnt something too. I didn't know about Alt-printscreen!

Thanks!

Ravs

RobA
05-06-2007, 11:25 AM
I've used all the things mentioned, but now use only one not mentioned:

Cropper.

http://blogs.geekdojo.net/brian/articles/Cropper.aspx


- It's free.
- can control the capture size to the pixel (supports predefined sized too)
- captures to clipboard for pasting, or to files
- file types are bmp, png, jpg (adjustable quality)
- auto increments file names for multiple crops (great for building tutorials!)
- optional auto thumbnail file generation
- lots of other options.

Only downside is it needs .NET

-Rob A>

jaerdaph
05-31-2007, 12:26 PM
Only downside is it needs .NET

Hi RobA,

Do you know which version of .NET this requires? Also, does it capture screen shots from Web pages using Flash or video stills from say YouTube?

RobA
05-31-2007, 01:44 PM
Only downside is it needs .NET

Hi RobA,

Do you know which version of .NET this requires? Also, does it capture screen shots from Web pages using Flash or video stills from say YouTube?

I'm using .NET 1.1 on XP

And I just tried, and yes, it captures flash and video (youtube).

-Rob A>

palehorse
05-31-2007, 03:06 PM
I'm using FastStone Capture to take all the screenshots for Fantasy Cartography with Adobe Photoshop; you can capture the full screen, just the active window, marquee-selected regions, individual windows within a larger program (like, say, just the Brush window in Photoshop), freehand drawn regions, and scrolling windows. And you can choose the format and resolution for the screen shot (BMP, GIF, JPG, TIF, PNG, or PDF).

http://www.faststone.org/FSCaptureDetail.htm

It's free for non-commercial use.

jaerdaph
06-01-2007, 03:54 PM
I'm using .NET 1.1 on XP

And I just tried, and yes, it captures flash and video (youtube).

-Rob A>

Excellent, thanks! I'm glad it's .NET 1.1, because that's already required for CC3 software installation. I didn't want to have to install one of the other versions too. :)

I'm still running XP too. In theory my current system could handle Vista, but I figure I'll wait until it comes installed on the next computer I purchase. If it ain't broke...