PDA

View Full Version : Greetings

Snowball
05-03-2009, 01:53 PM
Hello tharr, I found this site in my quest for learning how to make some snazzy military maps, for some game i play. I found i wanted that nice General feel of looking at a map, with all my units positions, and those of the enemy neatly presented :)

NeonKnight
05-03-2009, 02:42 PM
Welcome to the Guild!

ravells
05-03-2009, 05:22 PM
It would be really nice to have more wargame maps here. Welcome to the guild!

Korash
05-03-2009, 06:05 PM
*salute*

Sir. Welcome Sir.

*end salute*

Best way to learn is to post something and let use be your guide.

What software do you use?

Snowball
05-03-2009, 06:48 PM
GIMP:

And im a total noob, it`s quite overwhelming...and i`ve no idea how to start....xD

Basically what i have is a world map, with different regions, etc. And i want to insert military symbols, to signify unit types and numbers

http://www.history.army.mil/books/wwii/11-4/symbols.htm

However, i can`t even figure that out. Though it SHOULD be VERY easy. At the moment i am just aiming to making that happen, a strategic scale overview of my forces if you will.

I plan to progress to "plan maps" eventually, that show routes of movement, and what positions my troops posess etc.

So the question is, is it possible to learn this art?

ravells
05-03-2009, 06:58 PM
if you want to use a map that's symbolic like that, I'd suggest you download inkscape...vector drawing programmes are much more effective at making and combining shapes. you can also use vector and raster together....make your map in the raster and then bring it into the vector to put your symbols on.

Snowball
05-03-2009, 07:03 PM
And if i already have the map, and only need to put in symbols?