PDA

View Full Version : newbie catrographer

msa
05-04-2009, 01:47 PM
Hey y'all!

I've been making simple maps for my RPGs for a long time, but they've been functional over pretty. I recently decided to improve my skills and I've been hunting around looking for mapmaking info. This board has amazing references and a lot of great work, so I thought I'd show my appreciation by participating and sharing.

Here are my two new maps that I've been working on based on what teh internets have taught me. They are simple still, and largely incomplete. I personally think the styles are all over the place--on the outdoor map I feel like the water is very illustrative while the woods are trying to be textured, for example. But hey... I'm still learning!

Looking forward to feedback... especially on the outdoor map. Once I get a draft done, I'll start a WIP thread to really hone it down. Dungeons are fun, but I feel like they are a little more straightforward. My skills on the outdoor stuff are lacking.

PS. I'm working mostly in gimp, although I *might* be open to new tools ;)

Gandwarf
05-04-2009, 02:07 PM
Welcome to the guild!
And have some rep for posting your first maps.

The outdoor map certainly isn't bad, although I agree the styles of the water and forest are not an ideal mix. And I guess the dark areas are ruins of a tower and wall?

As for the dungeon, I like the look. It's old school and I am digging it. What is the middle room supposed to represent? I mean the room with the blue vortex.

msa
05-04-2009, 02:36 PM
Yay rep!

On the outdoor map, the dark areas are a ruin of a tower and a wall. I'm not super satisfied with them, but I like them OK. I was experimenting with noise and thresholds to give them something of an organic feel.

The tomb is based roughly off an old dungeon map, but the swirly pool and round room weren't there. Really, that map was more to experiment with and showcase the highlight effects that frame the map.