PDA

View Full Version : Creating 3D contour maps of land

pyrandon
05-08-2007, 08:10 AM
In a separate thread (http://cartographersguild.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1596#1596)
about city streets we began discussing creation of 3D contour maps of hills, mountains, and such
Can anyone suggest the best way(s) to do this--hopefully ?

I have used diplacement maps in Photoshop to create waving flags & banners; would this be one possible avenue? Or would a 3D application such as Bryce, Terragen, 3D Studio Max, etc. be most useful? Hopefully the latter is not the only method, since for many of us the high price tag of those programs makes them prohibitive.

I'm a complete novice at this sort of art, although I do own a couple 3D programs, so any help/advice would be appreciated. I can see it being very valuable.

keithcurtis
05-08-2007, 10:23 AM
I believe Terragen is freeware.

RPMiller
05-08-2007, 11:14 AM
As I own Bryce and Carrera as well as Fractal Terrains I would most likely use one of those.

I would take a gray scale elevation map of the area and insert it into the appropriate program as a height map. Pure white would be the highest and black the lowest points. The 3D app would take care of the rest.

I would then probably cheat and simply overlay the full color map of the area on top of the 3D map after removing text and such.

If I was really feeling creative, I would convert my full color map into gray scale and use that as an additional height map to actually create the buildings and such.

RobA
05-08-2007, 03:33 PM
welllllllll...

this gave me an idea, so here is my lunchtime project.

I took my map from following the tutorial here (half way down the page):

http://cartographersguild.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=252

Then I took the various layers and made a bump map. First by merging the hill layers, stretching the range from black to 50% gray.