PDA

View Full Version : An established farmer's house on Abebe



guyanonymous
05-16-2009, 01:51 PM
I was fiddling with SketchUp to see if it was a tool I could/would use...

(what a frustrating user-interface, though)

Here's what I've come up with so far for my building. 6, btw, is a special number on Abebe (the use a base 12 system, instead of base 10), so it appears now and then in their constructions.

The room with all the windows, so far, is to be a patio (with roof) for general use.

The other rooms, I've got to decide, but besides kitchen/dining, sleeping, pantry, storage, there will be a workshop and storage for it.

This property will be placed on a large hex-shaped set of fields.

Any ideas, or tips for the noob to SketchUp? Where's my #$@# 3-d sphere tool?

guyanonymous
05-16-2009, 01:54 PM
Having used 3dStudio and similar programs in the past, I'm finding myself frustrated with the lack of direct tools and the unpredictability of orientation in SketchUp. It does have some nice features which have kept me trying to learn (e.g., styles, ability to easily create/erase lines/measures etc) - but some of them remain unpredictable to me (e.g., erasing a line sometimes erases the line, sometimes a wall, sometimes half and object...even when the line was a copy and past from one erased successfully in a similar location 30 seconds earlier).

Ascension
05-16-2009, 02:17 PM
The line properties are probably my main issue as well. If you don't follow everything very closely and remember things very accurately you might try to erase a line and nothing happens...this is caused by two lines in the same place. Sometimes you'll lose the wall (only one line there) and sometimes you'll erase only part of the line (due to clicking more than two spots to make the original line). The most important thing to pay attention to is the white/blue colors...if you see some diagonal funky blue lines and shapes on a white wall then you've got more than two lines in the same place.

As for the building, I think it looks great :)

guyanonymous
05-16-2009, 02:25 PM
Thanks for the tips (and feedback)...

I've created a few of those funky goings-on while trying to recreate the front face of a wall I just deleted somehow.

guyanonymous
05-16-2009, 02:27 PM
Is there a way to force move to slide along only one axis?

Or to directly see and modify the traits of shape I've created in the past? I know you can type in some of the variables as you create it, but I'm wondering about setting an exact position in space, changing it later (e.g., changing from a 6-sided polygon to a 12)...I want a pop up display I can type things in on.

Ascension
05-16-2009, 02:54 PM
There's no slide like you're thinking (sliding an entity down a line in a copy paste method). Very annoying since the copy/paste used can be very tricky to manipulate sometimes...once I had an item 20 feet up in the air but didn't notice it until I switched to side view. The way that I get around that is to draw a line directly to a spot where I want the new entity to start. For copying something like a wall this isn't necessary but if you want to place something like a bunch of tables: first lay out a grid (more accurate control of center-point placement), draw your table and put a handle on it (just a small line either on the x, y, or z axis), highlight the table and group everything (including the handle), copy it, then paste it down somewhere, while the lines are still blue grab the handle (at the very end of the line) and move it to where you want it and it should snap into position on your grid, ungroup the table and delete the handle, and lastly delete the grid when done. Lots of work, tedious work, annoying work. The effort is worth it in my opinion but I can be very anal like that when it comes to cad.

There should be a pop-up window when you hover over an entity or maybe right click on it (I forget, been a while); it pops up in the upper left of the screen. I always use it to make sure that my line is exactly as long as I want it to be (for castles I use 10 foot lines and for houses I use 8 foot lines...if I wanted to be really anal I would set the lines for 16 inches plus 1 3/4 inches -- which is how far the studs are apart in a modern wall plus the thickness of the 2x4). If you're drawing out a line there should be a small lil window on the bottom right of the screen that shows exactly how long it is as you're drawing it...you can type a number into that box and the line will jump to that length (just don't forget the ' for feet and the " for inches).

Steel General
05-16-2009, 03:06 PM
Pretty neat looking (even if you are not toally happy w/SU), I've yet to try it.

Oh well, one of these days.

guyanonymous
05-16-2009, 03:59 PM
That's more or less what I've been doing, creating grids of lines and using the move tool with specific points on an object/line.

I want my donuts and spheres though.

NeonKnight
05-16-2009, 06:51 PM
Congrats.

I love reading about different numbering systems then our know BASE 10 system.

I am familiar with (thanx to CCNA) with the binary System (or Base 2), so 100111 = 39, and I just finished reading a Harry Turtledove Novel "A World of Difference. The Novel postulates a 'WHAT IF' Mars was a little bigger than Earth, and actually supported life (intelligent life) that was discovered by the Viking Lander.

The Aliens in the Book (Mars was actually Called Minerva in this Alternate Timeline), known as Minervans were not built on our bilateral symestry by rather a hex symatry (so 6 arms, 6 legs, 6 eyes on Eye Stalks, etc). The Minervans had 3 digits (fingers) on each hand and as a result, had a base 18 number system. Thus numbers were expressed as groups or parts of groups of 18's (Eighteen eighteens of men, 9 18's of days, half an 18 hours from now, etc).

The reason I go into this, is there is a reason we as humans utilise a base 10 number system. With 10 digits (2 sets of 4 fingers and 2 thumbs), we can readily count to ten, and then make a mark and do it again. It is likely how we started to learn math. A base 2 number system (binarry) is equally logical (Present = 1, not present = 0), and in the book I mentioned above, the Base 18 number system also made sense. Even though the author never discussed it, I understood. The Minervans had 6 arms with 3 fingers, 6x3=18. Much like our 10 fingers.

So, I am curious. What was the catalyst for your society to have a base 6 number system?

guyanonymous
05-16-2009, 07:12 PM
exactly!

I was turned on to the base 12 system in the Frank Leonowski books.

I'm still flipping between having my population have 12 digits, or just count differently using 10....

guyanonymous
05-16-2009, 07:14 PM
Base 12 system
Count:
• 0 both hands together in fists
• 1 one closed fist held forward
• 2 one fist held 1 finger out
• 3
• 4
• 5
• 6 one hand, all fingers splayed
• 7 one hand one fist
• 8 one hadn one fist one finger
• 9
• 10
• 11
• 12 two hands

was how I thought counting might work with 10 digits.

Talroth
05-16-2009, 07:45 PM
Actually the idea of a 'base 10' number system is somewhat modern. I forget when it came into practice, but I know there were ancient cultures that used different numbering systems.

Actually the idea of a Base system is what really drove the science of mathematics forward. Other number systems were more of tally notes, based on addition. A Base N system centers around multiplication followed by addition, which allows the mathematical system to easily handle big numbers.

Think about it, in an ancient time how often does your average person need to count to more than 100 or so? Up until about the 1800s or so, few people really needed to deal with numbers, and for a big chunk of the world a lot of people were barely taught basic math skills till after 1900, and even then it isn't till something like the 1950s or so that the majority of people are expected to know.

But when you think of how we actually write numbers, and the theory of Zero, a base 11 or base 6 system actually makes more sense. Write it out while you count on your fingers. Show yourself Zero. Now start counting digits till you get back to zero again. Surprise,... Our hands aren't base 10, they're base 11.


If you are counting things out and writing them down, it actually makes more sense to learn in base 6, you hold your writing tool in one hand, and count with your free hand.

That humans use a base 10 system most likely does stem from our having digits on our hands, but this is most likely because it is a translation from a tally number system, not a pure mathematical 'base' system.

We would have learned to count before we made a numbering system, that is we learned one, two, three, four, five, etc, and THEN we learned to write 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, etc.

Ascension
05-16-2009, 08:25 PM
I might be mis-remembering but I think that the base 10 comes from the Persians and the concept of the zero comes from the Chinese. Me n numbers aren't the best of friends so I sometimes forget exactly.

NeonKnight
05-16-2009, 09:03 PM
Google-fu: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/0_(number)#History

guyanonymous
05-17-2009, 02:18 AM
Here is a view of the stove I finally managed to put together.

I think I'm going to start looking at how imported objects (that I create in other software I find more usable) do...can I still use styles on them, as that's what really grabbed my attention in Sketchup...

Midgardsormr
05-17-2009, 03:11 PM
Actually the idea of a 'base 10' number system is somewhat modern. I forget when it came into practice, but I know there were ancient cultures that used different numbering systems.


Off the top of my head, I know the Babylonians used base 60, as did the Sumerians before them, but the Babylonians were the ones who really developed the math. How on earth you'd keep track of 60 numerals I have no idea!

edit: And the Maya used a base 20 system. I guess maybe that's why they all wore sandals?

guyanonymous
05-17-2009, 03:15 PM
For my culture, I'm basing things on multiples of 6 and 12 - or, at the very least, factors of 12. So they may have 48 alphabetical characters, each representing the 48 "sounds" that they make. 12 punctuation characters, etc. It's mystical, so they may have created systems with 64 spots, but only have 59 of them in use as they search for the missing 5.

Etc. etc.

guyanonymous
05-17-2009, 09:05 PM
A basic well (I just can't figure out how to make rope yet!)...and an overview of the primary community farm.

ravells
05-17-2009, 09:27 PM
Well, well, well.....sorry couldn't resist! :)

Gamerprinter
05-17-2009, 09:48 PM
Which reminds me of Larry Niven & Jerry Pournelle's Footfall novel, where an alien race derived from elephants try to take over the world, similar by different to Lucifer's Hammer (comet strike on Earth, and subsequent survival) in flavor.

However the elephant aliens had a single trunk that divided into 4 trunks about half way down, which ended in 4 finger like tenticles at the end of each, so they used Base 8 for everything. Like their mother ship in orbit had 64 engines on it, etc.

Using non-Base 10 is a cool way to make a given setting unique. Though I haven't introduced the idea in a game, thus far, worth thinking abou though.

GP

Ascension
05-17-2009, 11:01 PM
Don't think you can do a perfect rope cuz the "follow me" tool would make something like flex duct pipe instead of braiding. I did a chain once for a drawbridge but it nearly killed me :) Just make a pipe and leave it for Kerkythea to put a skin on.

guyanonymous
05-17-2009, 11:47 PM
I'm wondering if, in the sketch styles, a single arc might look enough like a rope to qualify?

Ascension
05-18-2009, 12:23 AM
I've got an idea in my head, gonna try it tomorrow since it's gettin bed time.

guyanonymous
05-18-2009, 01:01 AM
Here's what I came up with for rope, and I'm pleased enough with it...I'm trying to get into the "approximate is good enough" P.O.V. that sketchup seems to require :D

And there's also an image of where the "farm" is now.

Ascension
05-18-2009, 01:37 AM
My idea didn't quite work but I did find a rope model in the user groups:

http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/details?mid=6314b47c3c79791861748fff0acb7ad

guyanonymous
05-20-2009, 12:58 AM
I think I'm done this little project, at least as far as I want to take it.

I'm also attaching the .skp file I saved it all in. Feel free to use it yourselves for any purpose at all. If you do use it, I'd appreciate knowing where, but that's not obligatory!

Dave

guyanonymous
05-20-2009, 12:59 AM
oh, there's a well, floating off-screen, for your use also. And obviously I missed deleting a line just behidn the house. But I'm ok with that :D