PDA

View Full Version : May/June Light Entry: Errland

lab205
05-19-2009, 04:32 PM
This is my attempt at a beginning of a region for the contest. I know its not that great, but I'm still learning. So far everything is done in Gimp, I'm going to add more detail as time progresses, and as I learn more. I may possibly start over, but I'm going to try to give this contest my best shot.

ravells
05-19-2009, 05:54 PM
Hi Lab! The fact that you have thrown your hat in the ring is great! Having to make a map against is a deadline is the best way to learn....anyway it's how I did. Doubtless you'll have plenty of advice along the way, but my question is:

Do you know what you want your map to look like (stylewise) when you've finished it? Or are you winging it? (which is what I usually do). What is interesting about the coastline is that it looks very square on the pixels...which suggests to me that you're using quite a low resolution to draw the map (or have imported a low res coastline). It definitely looks vector.

Having a look at the tools of your trade, try this: print out the map at a very low opacity and go over the coastline with a black pen making it more curvy and wiggly. Scan it, and then import into Gimp (say 2000 by 2000 pixels in size). Use level adjustments to make just the coastline visible and then go for your fills.

It's a great start but I fear those blocky coastlines will come back and haunt you if you don't get rid of them now.

lab205
05-19-2009, 11:52 PM
Thanks for you advice, I noticed what your talking about. Now that I got a little bit of an idea of how i want it to look i think i can redo it with more detail. And yes, I am 100% winging it.

BTW, its called Errland for a reason, cause I'm a gonna make a lotta of mistakes. "Trial and Error" is my preferred method of learning, maybe thats why I'm not a pilot.

lab205
05-20-2009, 07:47 PM