PDA

View Full Version : First Map

arcanus
05-27-2009, 08:34 AM
After several games bit the dust soon after starting I decided to take the bull by the horns and DM my own. Not being one to do things by halves I decided to create a map after having viewed some tremendous work here and elsewhere. Here is my WIP although location names and text styles are likely to change. The map is set to be used with D&D 4e with the Nentir Vale (as per the DMG) being the start point. It was created in Photoshop CS.

Any and all critique is welcome as I'm new to this and looking to improve my skills. Thanks all :D

http://www.ivy-cottage.net/games/kobold/arcanus.jpg

Feralspirit
05-27-2009, 09:02 AM
An impessive first map. Obviously you are no stranger to this craft. Welcome to The Guild, and for posting a map with your first post, consider yourself repped. The map is rep-worthy by itself, what software did you use?

I have spotted a few river errors. Can you still adjust the rivers?

Ascension
05-27-2009, 09:29 AM
Quite effective and nice, good colors as well.

Gandwarf
05-27-2009, 10:14 AM
Nice map, have some rep.
Do you have a larger version or is this it? Some of the details are hard to see.

Steel General
05-27-2009, 10:47 AM
Good stuff... I'll echo Gandwarf in hoping for a larger/higher resolution version.

arcanus
05-27-2009, 11:11 AM
Thanks all :) As regards size this is half size to keep the filesize down I'll post a link to the full size one soon

Steel General
05-27-2009, 11:57 AM
You can probably post the full-size version - depending on pixel count and file size.

The boards will handle up to around a 4.5MB png or a pixel depth of around 33million

torstan
05-27-2009, 12:03 PM
Very pretty indeed. Welcome.

arcanus
05-27-2009, 01:13 PM
Ok this one should show the details better.

landorl
05-27-2009, 01:16 PM
I would love to see a larger version also, but great map!