PDA

View Full Version : Importing Base map into Flex Projector



Koren n'Rhys
05-27-2009, 05:08 PM
I hope someone with a bit of experience can help me out here. I've discovered both Flex Projector and G.Projector as software for making various map projections and both look great. My problem is that I can't figure out how to import my base map into either one!

Flex Projector can supposedly import raster images (jpg, png, etc) but I don't see that option anywhere!

Same for G.Projector. I have an equirectangular image (2:1 ratio) and it doesn't recognize it.

Any thoughts?

RobA
05-27-2009, 11:41 PM
in Flex Projector You can use the File->Project image. This allows you to load a 2:1 and saves it out as a tif in the current projection.

-Rob A>

Koren n'Rhys
05-28-2009, 11:52 PM
I figured out the problem with g.projector. For some reason, it sis not like the .jpg file I started with. When I used a .png as the base image, it uploaded fine.

Still can't get Flex Projector to input an image... :(

RobA
05-29-2009, 11:56 AM
I figured out the problem with g.projector. For some reason, it sis not like the .jpg file I started with. When I used a .png as the base image, it uploaded fine.

Still can't get Flex Projector to input an image... :(

I'll repeat. To the best of my knowledge, in Flex projector you can not import an image (only a vector map). What you can do is use the current projection on an image file, using File->Project Image.

-Rob A>

Koren n'Rhys
05-29-2009, 02:40 PM
Ah, OK. I misunderstood your first post, then. I'll have to play with it some more then and see what I can do with it. may just end up using g. projector since I figured that one out already.

Thanks for your help, Rob!

Koren n'Rhys
05-31-2009, 03:29 PM
Just one more follow-up comment. I must be dense, since I couldn't seem to figure out what you meant in your comments, Rob, but I got it now, so thank you again for your help.

To summarize:
With Flex Projector, I can't import my image and see it while I fiddle with the projection parameters. I have to guesstimate the results based off the earth map that is already there. Then when I do the Project step, it lays that projection onto my base image and gives me the tif file. When I open that in Photoshop, I can see it with the projection applied.

It seems a hassle if you can't see it to make adjustments. I think I'll be sticking to G.Projector unless there are reasons to do otherwise.

So, are there?