PDA

View Full Version : [WIP] Topographic Map

cereth
06-18-2009, 08:36 PM
Here is a new project I've been working on. I'm pretty new with photoshop still so I'm kinda fumbling my way through it. The terrain itself was generated in Fractal Terrains, and now I'm going through an making the map in photoshop. I'm trying for a style similar to what HandsomeRob makes, but am trying to put my own twist on it.

What I'm going for is a heavily detailed map you'd expect to find in an atlas or history book. I'm still in the process of working on the rivers, which I'm finding is fairly time consuming. I let fractal terrains tell me where to put the rivers and now I'm going in and re-tracing them by hand.

I'm not real sure about the colors and stuff yet. I think I might make the land colors a little lighter and the rivers a little darker. I also plan to go in and paint some of the land features as well (forests, etc) but just wanted to use the fractal terrains generated colors to give myself a base.

Anyways, here is where I am so far.

Alecthar
06-18-2009, 09:23 PM
I like it quite a bit, though your ocean colors seem odd to my eyes. I generally associated the darker colors with further out to sea, whereas yours are kinda the reverse. I suppose that's part of the realistic atlas-type look.

Other than that, though, very cool.

Ascension
06-18-2009, 09:52 PM
That long mtn chain in the NW is kind of wonky looking but otherwise this is some really good stuff. The bay looks like an awesome place for a pitched broadside battle.

waldronate
06-19-2009, 03:59 AM
Sometimes I think I should have gone ahead and put in the effort to get the image climate shader working like I wanted to instead of just doing the cheesy thing that ended up in the software. Ah well...