PDA

View Full Version : Need some programming help

ravells
07-15-2009, 03:12 AM
I'm doing a map commission and I need some passable outlines of larger buildings which are more than just rectangles. There is a free piece of software called 'context free' (http://www.contextfreeart.org/)which I think would allow one to make dozens of random shapes in a building-like form. Below are some examples I've taken from their gallery of the shapes it can generate.

The only problem is that I am not a natural coder. I suspect the code to produce black building silhouettes would not be difficult for someone who was used to writing code. I don't need the buildings to be organised in any particular way, I just need lots of buildings generated so I can pick the ones I like and drop them into photoshop.

Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance,

Ravs

Alfar
07-15-2009, 04:04 AM
Something like these?

The zip file is the Context Free script that produced them.

ravells
07-15-2009, 07:11 AM
You are an absolute angel! Thank you so much and have lots of rep!

Thank you, thank you!

Ravs

Alfar
07-15-2009, 07:34 AM
Most welcome. I found the exercise refreshing :)

Ascension
07-15-2009, 04:00 PM
That is uber cool. Guess I gotta download yet another must have tool.

töff
07-15-2009, 04:44 PM
@Alfar. Now use the Thatch tutorial to generate textures at 90° to the building edges. And remember, some of those edges are curves.

Redrobes
07-15-2009, 06:17 PM
Alfar - thats superb. I have never looked at this context free but it looks neat for what you did with it. Rep heading your way.

Toff - you must have read my mind too. If there is a way to generate a height map for those shapes using some blur etc then the thatching script would sound like a great tool to get oodles of thatched or tiled buildings.

waldronate
07-15-2009, 07:16 PM