PDA

View Full Version : Inconstant posting



Karro
08-31-2009, 05:30 PM
So... my company recently clamped down on a lot of internet traffic, via a draconian "WebSense" policy, and this site has got caught in the crosshairs. So... my posting will be very intermittent (especially since I rarely have time to post during the weekends).

I'll probably be checking in during my work hours on a rare occassion (like now), simply because there's one flaw in the websense wall: our wi-fi access point. Whenever I'm connected both over the office Lan and the Wi-fi, I think I get a second MAC that allows me to get around WebSense. But the wi-fi is... how shall I say... inconstant? It's a pretty crappy connection, and is usually not working.

Alas, poor CG, I knew thee well! :(

Gandwarf
08-31-2009, 05:35 PM
Ah yes. WebSense, how I hate thee.
WebSense is blocking many sites at work, inclusing this website because it falls in the category: "Message boards and forums."

Working in an IT department we convinced our superiors we needed access to message boards and forums to research certain problems. The rest is history :D
(this is definitely not a lie as we really do look for solutions on forums).

WebSense is draconian... there's some workarounds though. Find a good anonymous webproxy (of course there's a constant war between WebSense and the proxies, so it's hard to find one that isn't blocked in the category "proxies") or plug in an internet phone and use it to browse the web. These solutions could get you in trouble of course :D

I am kinda crusading against WebSense as the moment, as I work not only in the IT department, but specifically the internet department. It's sometimes difficult to do my job with all the sites that get blocked. For a recent project I had to visit some gambling sites for example. Joyous times where had by all, before I got access to those sites through the company network :D

Jykke
08-31-2009, 05:36 PM
Tried a proxy ?

ravells
08-31-2009, 05:37 PM
Web nonsense more like....Hack 'em Karro....get your pipe to the CG and make it a good one!

Gandwarf
08-31-2009, 05:42 PM
I can understand why companies want to use Websense though. I know too many people who are wasting valuable time...

Not me of course. Not me :D

Gandwarf
08-31-2009, 05:59 PM
Oh, and for a list of webproxies:
http://www.tech-faq.com/proxy.shtml

Probably all blocked by Websense though :P

Disclaimer: using a proxy you might leak information to the proxy owner, so beware.

Redrobes
08-31-2009, 06:16 PM
Setup your own private proxy... see web sense get that one heh heh. But if you so desire then look into port forwarding a bizarre port and hooking it up to a remote desktop like VNC with a strong password running at home - no more web sense woes. The issue is not getting around web sense but getting around company IT usage policy so that your job safe to do it.

Karro
09-01-2009, 09:50 AM
Can't really set up a proxy at home (don't really have a regular network connection there). Anyway... not really sure I'm a capable hacker.

But... here I am and I find, surprisingly, that the wifi is working just fine today. Which means I get a second MAC address and a work-around. I'm a bit confused, since for the past month the wifi has been spotty at best.

Just in case, when I get time, I'll have to look into some options/solutions for when the wifi does go down (and I fully expect it to).

Korash
09-01-2009, 01:18 PM
We have websence here at work and it blocked CG as well. Until I asked the guy in charge of the web security if this site is a problem to view. Once he had a look-through, he unblocked it.

Just letting you all know that exceptions CAN (but not nessisarily will) be made to blocked sites. Worth a try I think.

waldronate
09-02-2009, 12:26 AM
At work they have www.cartographersguild.com blocked but not forum.cartographersguild.com and that makes my life much easier.

su_liam
09-02-2009, 01:40 AM
...brilliant...:roll:

Robbie
09-02-2009, 01:14 PM
At work they have www.cartographersguild.com blocked but not forum.cartographersguild.com and that makes my life much easier.

oh noes, look what I found!?!?! http://www.cartographersguild.com/forums/ How did that get there? *snicker*

Hope that helps!

Gandwarf
09-02-2009, 03:45 PM
Hmmm, if Websense has been configured properly it won't work. It will detect the word "Forum" in the url and block the site.

Redrobes
09-02-2009, 04:24 PM
http://tinyurl.com/

etc

Gandwarf
09-02-2009, 04:27 PM
WebSense isn't so easily fooled unfortunately...
Tinyurl only works as a redirect. WebSense isn't like a gate you have to go through and then you can visit the entire city. It's like a security guard that walks with you to each house (page) in the city, checks the content and then decides if you are allowed to enter.

Redrobes
09-02-2009, 04:40 PM
Oh ok, well I bet my viewingdale / geotersys domain isn't on it so maybe I could do a cgi script to repost pages under that domain. I could put a login on it so you cant get to it unless your on a list and not publicize the proxy url. You wouldn't be able to post, just read tho. Would anyone object to that ? I could share that cgi code and we could have a list of private proxies. This wbsense isn't that damned clever.

Gandwarf
09-02-2009, 05:07 PM
I can't check at the moment as I am not at work, but your Viewingdale domain is most likely blocked in the Websense category "Games".
I don't need any workarounds for Websense by the way, I can manage... some categories were opened up for our department.

Redrobes
09-02-2009, 10:11 PM
Right, I have set up a proxy on my viewing domain and I doubt that one is on the hit list. The proxy has been set so that it can only look at the guild url so no browsing the prong at my expense :) . I wont post the link here because it will be indexed, tagged and then sensed and were all back to square one. So PM me if you want to know it and ill PM Karro right now.

It might prove useful for me to have this too...

I have a large download limit but lets not spread the word too widely as I am sure that my ISP would not hugely appreciate turning their servers into clients.

Karro
09-03-2009, 10:13 AM
Thanks folks!

I don't know what happened, though, but since I posted the problem... it went away. I'm not sure if either they unblocked CG, or if having two connections (LAN + WiFi) provides a workaround... except that WebSense still seems to catch some things... It's kind of strange. But I guess I won't complain - at least I can still get on and break up the day a bit.

Gandwarf
09-03-2009, 10:35 AM
The Viewingdale website isn't blocked by Websense by the way. I just viewd it at work.

Redrobes
09-03-2009, 02:25 PM
I was having a search today for a form based URL checker. I finally, found this one.

https://toolbox.richland2.org/r2apps/r2websense

I checked the guild earlier today and it came up with games. I checked my viewing site and it came up with information technology which does not seem too bad and about right I guess. So I suspect that I wont be blocked but Karro PM'ed me and said that the proxy didnt work so ??? dunno really.

Gandwarf
09-03-2009, 04:29 PM
Ok, so your site is probably not blocked at my work because the IT category is open.