PDA

View Full Version : My first WIP

Gregorus Prime
09-04-2009, 05:04 PM
Hello, everyone. Be gentle, it's my first time.

Attached is a basic WIP of the yet-unnamed islands in my campaign world that the elves fled to when the human empire was first establishing its dominion on the main continent. They now live a simple subsistence lifestyle in harmony with nature, wearing little more than warpaint and grass skirts, praying to wooden idols of their gods, and generally eschewing both technology and magic, blah blah blah. You don't care about all that. You're here for the map.

Here it is, so far. I made it using RobA's GIMP tutorial for regional maps. I can salvage the basic land shape from the .xcf if I need to restart from scratch. I plan to make regional maps for each major area of the world and then stitch them together into a world map, and make political maps in addition to the topographic ones using the base land shapes. The jungle bump maps need to be cleaned up a bit and I just feel it's lacking something. Probably a lot of somethings. Thoughts? Comments?

Gandwarf
09-04-2009, 06:03 PM
Actually, we care about the story as well :)
A good map conveys a story I think...

Anyway, nice map so far. Nice colors and the land is well done. Not too sure about the mountains... they look a lot like brown blobs at the moment. I suck at this style though, so I can't really help you improve them. I think you made it difficult for yourself by creating islands with just a small mountain on them :)

The smaller islands are all round. You might want to experiment with different shapes. I think it will make the map look more realistic.

Don't let anything in my comment discourage you, you really are on the right track.

Gregorus Prime
09-04-2009, 06:14 PM
There's only so much I can do to the little islands before they lose so much detail that they might as well not be there.