PDA

View Full Version : Help with buildings



eabrek23
10-16-2009, 07:51 PM
I've been trying to make buildings using a bevel in the layer styles in PS, but it looks too 3D-ish, so I want to add a line over the bevel edges. It looks good, but I have alot of buildings, and adding individual lines one by one is taking FOREVER!! Does anyone know how to do this quicker? I've gotten a tip from RobA, but it was in GIMP and didn't work in PS very well.

Ascension
10-16-2009, 09:39 PM
The only thing that I can think of is to merge all of the buildings onto one layer then use filter - stylize - find edges. I don't think it will produce anything all that great but it might work. Otherwise ya gotta do it by hand, make up a bunch of your own to copy/paste, or see if they have any at the various websites we talk about a lot (Dunjinni user forums, rpgmapshare, etc).

DevinNight
10-16-2009, 10:07 PM
can you post a little sample.
I think if the buildings can be selected, then the selection is reduced by the same amount as the bevel, then create a new layer, fill the smaller selection with white, give that layer a stroke of black then multiply that layer with the layer below, you should have a line that follows the contour of the building but a set number of pixels in.

eabrek23
10-16-2009, 11:24 PM
Heres a sample of what I want:

Coyotemax
10-16-2009, 11:29 PM
If you have standard sizes for the buildings and they're not rotated, you could make a brush for the lines and stamp them in. If you have them rotated but mostly in the same directions, you can still do that. of course this assumes they're mostly the same size too :)

Ascension
10-16-2009, 11:38 PM
Yeah, you could do that. Draw lines for a bunch of different type of houses, turn em into a brush, plop em down, then bucket fill the empty space in your fave colors/shades.

DevinNight
10-17-2009, 09:07 AM
mt Idea wouldn't work now that I see what you are doing.
Since you have illustrator why not set up 3-4 buildings then copy paste them til you have all the buildings you want, then copy them into PS. That seems like it would be the easiest way.
You can even take your PS file into illustrator as a template and place all the buildings in illustrator, then copy all the buildings into PS at once and do any last minute tweaking.