PDA

View Full Version : readable text on the maps ?



Noon
10-31-2009, 04:37 PM
I think my texts are unreadable, when I insert them with CC3. This is probably due to the vectorization of fonts.
But when I insert text with GIMP, I can't put the text in italic, bold, underline, and I can't make shadow effects, glow, etc ...
So here's my question: how do you apply effects on texts in Gimp or Photoshop ?

Steel General
10-31-2009, 04:39 PM
In photoshop the text is on its own layer so you can apply any layer effects you want. Haven't used GIMP in a long time so can't answer that.

ravells
10-31-2009, 07:42 PM
I do all my labelling in vector. It saves a ton of time and layers.

RobA
10-31-2009, 10:30 PM
I do all my labelling in vector. It saves a ton of time and layers.

Ditto. I have switched to Inkscape to do the labels for my Gimp maps.

-Rob A>

Noon
11-01-2009, 04:33 AM
Steel General : last night, I tried to insert text on this map with GIMP.
I spent a lot of time and ultimately, I have 3 layers by city name, plus one for the button. It's too much for me :-)
This is really not practical because I can't apply the same effect or even change the color on all texts at the same time (besides, is this possible?)
But it is true that the text is more readable.

Ravells, RobA : I did some quick tests with Inkscape, but for now, I could not do anything with it. I'll read the help.

Gandwarf
11-01-2009, 05:41 AM
The texts in CC3 are indeed less readable as they are created as vectors and there's no antialiasing. I labelled almost all my maps outside of CC3 because of this. However, as it takes a lot of work I did the labelling of my last map in CC3 (it contained hundreds of labels!) and it turned out quite all right.

Noon
11-01-2009, 05:54 AM
Gandwarf thank you, your response reassures me about CC3.
For Inkscape, I understood my mistake : I must begin by converting the text in path ^_^
Now, Inkscape is my friend :-D

Redrobes
11-01-2009, 08:41 AM
Since Gandwarf knows about CC3 then I would say then that its not that they are vectorized thats the issue it would be the lack of anti aliasing. You can get a form of anti aliasing called super sampling if you made the map a lot bigger than you need and then slightly blur it and then cut the size down.

You can read more about this in my tut:
http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=2596

but what I am getting at is that you can stay with CC3 if you do it this way and get readable fonts with it all assuming CC3 allows such a big map.

jaerdaph
11-02-2009, 06:22 PM
Due to the lack of anti-aliasing in CC2 Pro, I began using Fireworks for text labeling as post-work. With the sheet effects in CC3, I get much better results with text than I did with CC2 Pro that I rarely go to Fireworks anymore, even though there is still a lack of anti-aliasing.

jaerdaph
11-19-2009, 09:01 PM
FYI: The new Patch 8 (also called Update 8 ) from Profantasy for CC3 now adds anti-aliasing functionality to bitmap exports (BMP, PNG, JPG) from the program. More here:

http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=7968

ravells
11-20-2009, 05:02 AM
Yeah, I beat on about the lack of anti-aliasing in CC2 pro for ages, and finally started using other software mainly for that reason.

Noon
11-20-2009, 03:34 PM
jaedarph : thank you for the C8 patch, I didn't know it existed. It fixes few annoying problems, but the anti-aliasing option doesn't work :-/

But, but, but, I found a solution :-))) : I export the map with a great size (5000px for example), and after, I reduce the size of the jpeg file (with Photofiltre). The texts are readable, the line are smooth, no scales, no need to add blur effects on all the sheets (or almost), no need to add the texts with an other software ... houra !!!

jaerdaph
11-20-2009, 03:46 PM
jaedarph : thank you for the C8 patch, I didn't know it existed. It fixes few annoying problems, but the anti-aliasing option doesn't work :-/

But, but, but, I found a solution :-))) : I export the map with a great size (5000px for example), and after, I reduce the size of the jpeg file (with Photofiltre). The texts are readable, the line are smooth, no scales, no need to add blur effects on all the sheets (or almost), no need to add the texts with an other software ... houra !!!

It might not work because anti-aliasing is turned off by default. You have to go into Tools -> Options and then check the anti-alias button to turn it on. Give it a % value of anywhere from 35% to around 50% for best results. Then do a File -> Save As and pull down the type of bitmap (BMP, JPG or PNG) you want to save as. You can set other options for export there as well.

Alternately, from the File -> Save As, click Options button, and you'll get the same thing as above. Another cool option (if you are exporting the whole map and don't want to include anything outside the map like a white polygon mask that hides things that cross the map border) is to check "restrict image to map border" as well.

Noon
11-20-2009, 04:14 PM
I did all this, but the software crashes, systematically :-/
I think that I choose too great sizes (3000 or 4000 pixels).

jaerdaph
11-20-2009, 04:24 PM
I did all this, but the software crashes, systematically :-/
I think that I choose too great sizes (3000 or 4000 pixels).

Yeah if you want 3000 x 4000 output and put in a high % value, the program will up those numbers (double, triple or more) and crash out. You may have to experiment with lower % values.

Redrobes
11-20-2009, 06:09 PM
You can anti-alias it yourself by rendering it 200% in each dir and then blurring it slightly in Gimp and then resampling down by 50% in Gimp. Sounds from the above posts that the software is just trying to do this internally but with 2x or 4x on top of 4000px its too big for it.

jaerdaph
11-21-2009, 10:09 AM
You can anti-alias it yourself by rendering it 200% in each dir and then blurring it slightly in Gimp and then resampling down by 50% in Gimp. Sounds from the above posts that the software is just trying to do this internally but with 2x or 4x on top of 4000px its too big for it.

Yeah, that's exactly what's happening at larger sizes. Thanks for the GIMP tip though - I may try that with some of my larger images.

My largest size exports have been my Castle of the Mad Archmage poster maps - I've been exporting them at 3440 x 3200. I was able to export a PNG that size with anti-alias at 60% which gave a 8600 x 8000 "temporary" image, but it took about 5 minutes to generate (17 passes). If I try anything higher, I crash CC3.

Anyhow, it's a good start, and hopefully Profantasy will continue to "tweak" it as Simon mentioned.

Redrobes
11-21-2009, 07:17 PM
Heres my tut covering this stuff with more explaination:
http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=2596
interesting bits is in posts #9 and #10 for this stuff.