PDA

View Full Version : [Award Winner] Saderan a tutorial

Tear
11-25-2009, 04:57 PM
I had some unexpected time off today, so I worked on my first tutorial.

It covers all the basics I used to produce this map (http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=7920), except for endless noodling over details, of course. ;)

I'll admit I'm not very good at writing, but I hope it's comprehensible.
I tried to make it easy to get into, but I don't know if that worked.
Also, it is probably full of typos.

In any case, I'm glad I was able to get this out before my vacation, so I hope it's helpful to someone out there.

Steel General
11-25-2009, 05:08 PM
I only skimmed through it very quickly, but it looks like you did a good job.

I'll have to give it a whirl sometime.

thesubatomic
11-25-2009, 05:18 PM
Tear, I'm extremely impressed by your maps. Hopefully this will help give me some direction. Thank you very much!

Ramah
11-25-2009, 05:33 PM
Like SG I've only skimmed through the PDF file but it looks really well done. Very professional looking like everything you do.

Looking forward to giving your style a whirl soon. :)

Coyotemax
11-25-2009, 06:59 PM
I did a bit more than skim, but haven't tried it yet. I think I will, this is very thorough and clear. I really do like the way you do the ocean layer, I may incorporate that into the style i'm already using :)

(i tried to rep! really!)

thesubatomic
11-25-2009, 07:19 PM
I got lost on page three. D: We go from working on the paint layer to deleting the Threshold layer and selecting Alpha one? How did we get there? I'm pretty confused. Sorry if this sounds stupid, but the instructions are pretty hard to follow right around that point, starting out at least.

Edit: Disregard. I'm dumb as hell and running on no sleep. xD

Gidde
11-25-2009, 07:51 PM
Looking forward to figuring out how to get this one working in GIMP; great tutorial!

mearrin69
11-25-2009, 08:27 PM