PDA

View Full Version : My new world map

industrygothica
12-04-2009, 11:24 AM
I need to start another map like I need hole in my head, but after seeing Tear's recent work I was feeling inspired.

I started playing around with this and I sort of like where it is going, so I think I'll keep working on it. I was amazed at the speed in which this was done. This little bit took about 20 minutes, I think. I'm not sure about the mountain placement though, so any input there would be great.

-IG

industrygothica
12-04-2009, 01:05 PM
Now I can't quit working on it...

Steel General
12-04-2009, 01:33 PM
Looks good so far.

Katto
12-04-2009, 04:40 PM
I like the shape very much, but in my opinion the rivers are too long. We have a proverb in germany that says "Wasser sucht sich den kürzesten Weg." roughly translated "water seeks the shortest way itself".

Ascension
12-04-2009, 07:04 PM
Good grungy-lookin touches, nice colors, good shapes = good job, bro.

PokealypseNow
12-04-2009, 07:08 PM
I really like the textures! Mind sharing how you did the mountains and forests?

industrygothica
12-05-2009, 12:40 AM
I really like the textures! Mind sharing how you did the mountains and forests?

I used Soixante's mountain brushes that can be found here (http://www.cartographersguild.com/showpost.php?p=50272&postcount=11). After I got the peaks where I wanted them I made a separate layer underneath that and used a piece Pasis’s tutorial from here (http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=4405). I only used the base mountain layer section.

The forest was just one of the default speckle type brushes in photoshop (I'm sure there's a proper name for them, but it's not coming to me at the moment). I widened the spread, and cranked up the size and angle jitters, then played with the bevel and opacity until I got something I liked. I can get you the exact setting if you'd like.

Hope that helps!

-IG

Gary N. Mengle
12-05-2009, 04:32 AM