PDA

View Full Version : WIP - My first map

Jaxilon
12-10-2009, 12:34 AM
I created this using GIMP which I am still learning.

This is a local region map for an area I GM a group of friends in when we have time.

Eventually I want to do my entire world so this is kind of a proof of concept for me. I haven't been able to get the bending of text to work for finishing the labels so very little is labeled as of yet. Also, I had no brain on starting with the right DPI scale so it is what it is.

My wife is probably tired of my asking, "What looks better?" and "What is wrong with this picture?", so feel free to C&C me you experts.

Pretty much the whole dang thing is hand painted because I can't seem to follow a tutorial, LOL.

One final note, thank you Ramah for the Markers you posted for use in the elements section. I tweeked them a little (just cleanup and painting) but I'm sure you will recognize them.

Working with a mouse sucks...I need a tablet.

Ascension
12-10-2009, 01:26 AM
I like what you've got going on here style-wise. Keep at it and you'll refine it in time and be teaching us.

Coyotemax
12-10-2009, 03:29 AM
First off, I'll second what Ascension said, this is great, I haven't seen anything quite like it, and I'm looking forward to giving it a shot :)

Secondly, since you asked for it.. C&C (as gently as possible)
Your river mouth seems to be covered by the beach.. easy to fix :)
Your streams in the mountains appear to start on the ridgelines ('m assuming that's what the lighter strokes are). Most streams would come down through the valley portions of the mountain slopes, unless I'm mistaken.