PDA

View Full Version : WIP - First post first map

synapticslack
12-14-2009, 12:37 AM
This is a map I’ve been working on for a DnD 3.5e campaign. The tone of the campaign is somewhat lighthearted so I am trying to go for more of an bold epic feel than for full-on realism. They map may eventually be expanded to a full world map with all of the continents.

The map is made in GIMP but the text labels I made as MS Word “word art” and pasted in instead of messing with GIMP’s text tools which I find frustrating.

Just wondering what people think and if anyone has ideas for improvements. Thanks!

Locution
12-14-2009, 01:25 AM
I really like your style, the forests especially. At first glance though something does seem a bit off. I am a bit of an amateur, however, so I will leave the real critique to the experts. Have a little rep from me. Its a great start!

Ascension
12-14-2009, 01:34 AM
I dig it a lot. There's a river violation in the southwest (rivers don't split except in deltas) but otherwise I think you've done a really nice job.

Locution
12-14-2009, 02:03 AM
I think it may just the the shading along the coast that is playing with my eye. It seems to make your landmass float above the water.

Steel General
12-14-2009, 05:52 AM
Other than the river violation Ascension noted (an easy thing to fix), I think this looks good. I'm not usually a fan of bright, 'neon'-y colors but it works well here I think.

jfrazierjr
12-14-2009, 09:07 AM