PDA

View Full Version : Attempting a new(ish) style

Locution
12-23-2009, 04:23 PM
So this is my first attempts at an ancient style parchment map. I thought I would show it off a bit now before I do more work on it.

Ascension
12-23-2009, 04:33 PM
Looks good so far.

Steel General
12-23-2009, 08:19 PM
It's a great start...looking forward to seeing where you take it.

Diamond
12-25-2009, 09:29 PM
I'm a huge fan of that style. Looks good thus far, I'll be interested to see what happens with it.

Jaxilon
12-26-2009, 01:45 AM
I like it so far. I find myself fighting to make landmasses that look right and I think you did a good job here.

Locution
12-26-2009, 05:42 PM
There was no reral "trick" to these land masses, I just selected an area with the lasso tool and filled it and then went over the edge with the eraser to make it look more natural. It didn't take too long but it was tedious.

Davros01
12-26-2009, 07:46 PM
I absolutely agree with everyone. a very good start. will be watching to see its development

Locution
12-27-2009, 02:35 AM
A quick update. I have added some terrain icons and some city markers. Of course these are from some of the many brush packs that I have found kicking around this site and thanks to the authors (I hope I remembered to rep you all). I am pretty happy with how this is going. I am a bit concerned the style of the city markers differs too much from the terrain icons so I may play with other options.

Diamond
12-27-2009, 01:49 PM
To me, those city icons blend too much with the mountain icons, and they're too hard to pick out against the coastline. I'd make them a lighter shade of the color you have them in, or do some kind of outer glow or something to make them pop out a bit.

Locution
12-27-2009, 11:01 PM
I actually like that the icons blend, but I may try a few things out. Once the labels are added it will become more obvious where the city icons are located.

Diamond
12-28-2009, 01:14 AM