PDA

View Full Version : How to draw politcal borders for empires/kingdoms?

cdeldridge
01-19-2010, 08:09 PM
So I'm new to cartography and I've been using CC3 to draw a world map that covers a fantasy series that I've been working on. I'm close to being done (in a rough draft format) and I can't figure out how I can draw political borders (empires/kingdoms) with relative ease. I want each empire to have a different colored pattern representing the empire that is transparent enough so I can still see the terrain, land features, structures, etc. Is there an easy way to do this or do I have to just draw out a terrain, or landmass (and try to stay along the lines of the landmass - which will be a pain) then change the sheet, try to find 15-25 different colored dashed/broken lined fill styles, etc.? Any advice/tutorial would be appreciated. Thanks....

NeonKnight
01-19-2010, 09:29 PM
Check out my tutorial, DRAWING POLITICAL BORDERS IN CC3 in the tutorial section.

http://www.cartographersguild.com//showthread.php?3516-[Award-Winner]-Making-Political-Borders-in-CC3

cdeldridge
01-19-2010, 10:03 PM
Cool thanks for the reply. That will definitely help.....

cdeldridge
01-19-2010, 10:24 PM
Okay so the tutorial really helped, but I want to use my terrains to trace to draw out my empires (and not my land), however i want some of my empires to cover two or more separate terrains. How do i join multiple terrains and turn them into a single "permanent" entity, so I can trace say four separate terrains (now one) and then use an appropriate fill style on the "now" single entity? I hope that makes sense. Thanks...

NeonKnight
01-19-2010, 10:36 PM
Assuming you are not using 'overlapping' borders, simply draw your borders on a seperate sheet. As you draw one border, use the trace option to trace along coasts or rivers, and 'free-hand' it over forests, marshes, or mountains. It's really that simple.

cdeldridge
01-19-2010, 10:48 PM
And what if they are overlapping? Am I hosed?