PDA

View Full Version : How to place a jpeg scan of an existing map in the background in CC3



steta85
02-09-2010, 02:51 PM
Hi, I'm new to thisw software and I apologize if my question seems to be so simple. The fact is that I need to work with an existing .jpg map (scanned jpg map) so a can draw above it.
Thank you so much

Nami
02-09-2010, 03:03 PM
Hello there Steta,

The process is fairly simple. The tool you need to use is Draw > Insert File. You will be able to place and size it. However, since you need to draw on top of it, make sure you crate a new layer and sheet that will float just above the background; and place it on these entities.

There should be a more detailed entry in your CC3 help file along the lines of 'Adding a background image'. I apologize I am not on the correct computer to verify the name.

NeonKnight
02-09-2010, 07:12 PM
I have a tutorial on how to do this located here:

http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?1431-[Award-Winner]-How-to-Insert-a-Pen-n-Paper-Map-into-CC3

And, just so you know, you cannot insert jpegs, only PNGS or BMPs.