PDA

View Full Version : new to the board



Slade
10-04-2007, 08:10 AM
Howdy,

I'm new to the board. I've been mapping for a little while. I have CC3, but I can't figure out how to use it. So instead, I just drew a map, scanned it, and have been doing some photoshop work with it. I sure would like to learn how to use CC3, to do stuff on the scale that WotC did for Forgotten Realms.

here are a few examples of my many megabyte sized 300dpi layered map, of my homebrew campaign setting:

Any tips, help or comments would be appreciated. I'd sure love to put it in CC3. Because like I've said, I have a massive photshop file, which has a commerce map, highway map, city map, province map... all in layers.

Hope everyone here is well.


Original Geo Terrain (http://www.tiecorps.org/aedaeion/images/c/c4/Worldmap_geoterrain.jpg) got turned into a color updated version. (http://www.tiecorps.org/aedaeion/images/9/98/Worldmap_geographic.jpg)

http://www.tiecorps.org/jamie/aedaeion/worldmap.jpg
http://www.tiecorps.org/aedaeion/images/b/bd/Worldmap_provinces.jpg
http://www.tiecorps.org/aedaeion/images/9/97/Worldmap_cities_highways_oc.jpg

NeonKnight
10-04-2007, 08:29 AM
Well, as an avid CC3 user (I use it pretty much exclusively), I suggest the first thing you want to do is follow all tutorials etc. Use that to make 'practice maps' and then you should have some basic skills to do you maps (which look pretty nice to me).

CHEERS!

ravells
10-04-2007, 08:36 AM
Hiya Slade, and welcome to the guild. That map sure looks like a labour of love. I really like the mountain symbols and the colour scheme you've chosen. We have some very good CC3 users here, who I'm sure would be delighted to give you some tips to help you get started.

RobA
10-04-2007, 10:34 AM
I'll second Rav's comment on the mountains. Did you draw them all by hand?

-Rob A>

Slade
10-04-2007, 03:18 PM
I'll second Rav's comment on the mountains. Did you draw them all by hand?

-Rob A>

Actually, I took a hand drawn map of Middle Earth, and then cut and pasted individual mountains. It took a few hours, but it had a nice effect.

Slade
10-04-2007, 04:52 PM
I've got so many additions and things loaded into CC3, I dont even know where to begin. How would I go about refreshing CC3 without uninstalling it and then reinstalling it?

pyrandon
10-04-2007, 05:04 PM
Hey, Slade: Welcome! Wow--those maps are detailed with a capital "D"! Like Ravs, says, a lobor of love (although added the superflous "U" to the word "labor" ;) ), and I think you've done so much work in PS that I wonder at your desire to switch to CC3. I mean, if you can already do that in one program, why learn another in order to do the same? (Unless, of course, you have other motivations for learning CC, that is.)

Welcome to the Guild!

NeonKnight
10-04-2007, 05:45 PM
I've got so many additions and things loaded into CC3, I dont even know where to begin. How would I go about refreshing CC3 without uninstalling it and then reinstalling it?

What do you have in CC3?

Slade
10-05-2007, 07:19 AM
Hey, Slade: Welcome! Wow--those maps are detailed with a capital "D"! Like Ravs, says, a lobor of love (although added the superflous "U" to the word "labor" ;) ), and I think you've done so much work in PS that I wonder at your desire to switch to CC3. I mean, if you can already do that in one program, why learn another in order to do the same? (Unless, of course, you have other motivations for learning CC, that is.)

Welcome to the Guild!

Well, I like my maps... but they've always been a 'temp fix'. Its hard to edit something with its 400megs large. And working inlayers,ugh. I have to delete names, then add a new layer, merge it. pah. Also, I would like to make cities and stuff.