Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: The Halls of Ash (Tapestry of Flies Preview Map)

  1. #1
    Guild Novice
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta - Canada
    Posts
    10

    Map The Halls of Ash (Tapestry of Flies Preview Map)

    "The Halls of Ash" is one of five maps for a Pathfinder RPG adventure I am writing called "Tapestry of Flies" which will be distributed as a free download under Paizo's Community Use Liscence once it is complete. This particular map (the second in the set), focuses on the Mortuary of Cindermort Abbey - a monastery devoted to the goddess Pharasma, Lady of Graves. The other areas of the complex explore Pharasma's other interests including birth and prophecy.

    This map is my second contribution to the guild and I feel that I have improved somewhat since my first attempt (see Rag's End Orphanage). I have focused on lightening up my shadows and choosing a cohesive color palette. Although I have been trying to introduce more color into my maps, I still find myself gravitating to the desaturated colors, but it since it suits the tone of the adventure, I think I am happy with the overall effect.

    Thanks to those who commented on my first piece and I'd love to hear some constructive criticism on this one. (Any if anybody would like to colaborate with me on this project, either as an artist or writer, please drop me a line.)

    <Please rate this thread>
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails The Halls of Ash (Tapestry of Flies Preview Map)-hob-1-halls-ash.jpg  
    Last edited by Jerett L. Schaufele; 04-16-2011 at 12:27 PM.

  2. #2
    Guild Journeyer Wannabehero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    165

    Default

    This is a wonderful adventure reference map Jerett, really top-notch! I'm looking forward to the adventure when you finish it (I'm an avid Pathfinder player and DM, all of my maps are almost always geared towards our PF games).

    I think the use of such mute tones works for this map piece, it conveys the feeling of a faded document. Along those lines the only suggestion I could possibly think of would be to blur up or feather the lines that still show minor pixelation (primarily just the outdoor roads/paths), and possibly even try to gritty-up the illustrated sections to go for an all-out document/parchment look. However, seeing as the image would be scaled down to page size, the rough pixel edges will probably disappear in the process.

    Sooooo, awesome map!

  3. #3
      Ascension is offline
    Community Leader Ascension's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    St. Charles, MO
    Posts
    8,216

    Default

    Love the trees. Colors are easy on the eyes as well. Nice job.
    If the radiance of a thousand suns was to burst at once into the sky, that would be like the splendor of the Mighty One...I am become Death, the Shatterer of worlds.
    -J. Robert Oppenheimer (father of the atom bomb) alluding to The Bhagavad Gita (Chapter 11, Verse 32)


    My Maps ~ My Brushes ~ My Tutorials ~ My Challenge Maps

  4. #4
      mearrin69 is offline
    Community Leader Gracious Donor mearrin69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    2,229

    Default

    Nice work!
    M

  5. #5
    Guild Novice Port Paladine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Excellent work on the map. Don't worrie about the color, it looks fine. I have one question though. As I follow the map from the front door down to the basement and into the catacombs, I dont see the side enterance and path from the catacombs on the mini map (bottom right map).
    "We might experience some turbulence, then explode." - Mal, Firefly


  6. #6
    Guild Novice
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta - Canada
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Excellent pick-up Port Paladine. This mistake happened when I had to shorten corridor E2 to fit within the extents of the map border. It used to travel much further underground, but should appear on the mini-map given its new length.
    Thanks!

  7. #7
      arsheesh is offline
    Community Leader arsheesh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4,175

    Default

    Beautiful map! Like Ascension and Port Paladine have already said, the colors are soft and pleasant.

    Cheers,
    -Arsheesh

  8. #8
      torstan is offline
    Community Leader Facebook Connected torstan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    4,142

    Default

    Very nice map. Love the colours, and it's a great reference map for an adventure. I'd suggest placing a gradient shadow on the steps to give some idea of which staircases go up and go down. The one thing that doesn't quite work for me is the metal tag on the top left. The letter look like they're floating above the surface, and this is one place where the faded colours don't seem to work so well.

    Otherwise, a beautiful piece of work with a lot of very careful subtlety. Good stuff!
    Fantasy Map Blog | My food illustration
    Everything I post is free for use and redistribution under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 licence, except where noted otherwise in the thread.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •