Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: SIGGRAPH 2011 preview

  1. #1
      Redrobes is offline
    Software Dev/Rep Redrobes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,763
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default SIGGRAPH 2011 preview

    Ohh Ohh Siggraph 2011 preview... yes please...

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JK9EEE3RsKM

    Its this time of year I wish I lived in the US. So who is going ??? Feel free to append about excellent stuff being done below map related or otherwise cos I would like to know about it.

  2. #2
      bartmoss is offline
    Publisher Gracious Donor
    Facebook Connected
    bartmoss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    888
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Some awesome stuff in there.

  3. #3

  4. #4
      Aenigma is offline
    Guild Adept Aenigma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Visby, Gotland, Sweden
    Posts
    317

    Default

    Holy sh*t that was awesome. Thanks for the link!
    Yesterday today was tomorrow.
    My deviantart: http://darkaiz.deviantart.com/

  5. #5
      Jaxilon is offline
    Community Leader Gracious Donor Jaxilon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,914

    Default

    Neat stuff - Love that texture camera deal. You said the States but it looks to me like it's in Vancouver Canada this year isn't it?
    “When it’s over and you look in the mirror, did you do the best that you were capable of? If so, the score does not matter. But if you find that you did your best you were capable of, you will find it to your liking.” -John Wooden

    * Rivengard * My Finished Maps * My Challenge Maps * My deviantArt

  6. #6
      waldronate is offline
    Software Dev/Rep Gracious Donor waldronate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The High Desert
    Posts
    1,393

    Default

    I'll be missing it this year for the first time since '97 because my company isn't allowing out-of-country travel. Attendance has been dropping pretty severely the last few years and it will be interesting to see the effect that occurs from not requiring attendees to get past the crazy US immigration policies.

    See also http://www.realtimerendering.com/blog/ and http://kesen.realtimerendering.com/ for lots of good information.
    Last edited by waldronate; 07-15-2011 at 07:42 PM.

  7. #7
      Redrobes is offline
    Software Dev/Rep Redrobes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,763
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Nice link Joe, such a shame your not going. I don't know anyone this year who is and there's several in that list I would like to see. Theres the kinect doing the room scanning - could be good for scanning terrain, scanning heads from Debevec. I'm into scanning heads and well just anything Debevec has to say. There's also the studio set props scanning from Weta which could be chewy as well. Then there is this fluid over terrain stuff which were both into. My preview clip didn't show some of the better aspects of it:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jl54WZtm0QE

    This kind of thing has been done previously using a different algo but its good to see what is going on. I still haven't seen anyone do really good fluid over large scale terrain tho. It always seems to be these small boxes of water. Still - just a matter of time I guess. I also see that there is a presentation for doing fluid over terrain on the GPU from INIRA. That's the place where Eric Bruneton is from who does Proland and we have been trying that demo out this year on MeDem as well. I'm now curious to know if he is hitting this area with more zeal than before. I saw his movies of rendering fluid flow which were good but it wasn't calculating the fluid position, just the animation once it was set. I hope that's changed.

    And this looks good too - 3D viewing without glasses. I'd like to see that for real:

    http://web.media.mit.edu/~mhirsch/hr3d/

    What about you Midgard ? You going ??? I thought you were some kind of rep for it at your college/establishment/place ?

  8. #8
      tilt is offline
    Community Leader Facebook Connected tilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Trelleborg, Sweden
    Posts
    4,657
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    looks damn cool
    regs tilt
    :: My art on Deviant Art :: My mapping blog tilts fantasy maps :: My work Catapult - Perry & Gehrke - EasyTruckIT ::
    :: Finished Maps :: WIP Cartographia - Breakwater -Market -Lands of Twilight -Battle City :: Competion maps Iron Giant ::
    :: FREE Tiles - Compasses :: Other Taking a commision - Copyright & Creative Commons ::
    Works under CC licence unless mentioned otherwise

  9. #9
    Guild Master Gracious Donor Midgardsormr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    2,369

    Default

    I founded a student chapter in Denver, but I've since moved to Los Angeles, where I volunteer for the local professional chapter.

    Unfortunately I can't make it up to Vancouver at this time—I'm still jobless. I'll definitely be hitting it next year, though, since it will be back in Los Angeles.
    Bryan Ray, visual effects artist
    http://www.bryanray.name

  10. #10
    Guild Master Gracious Donor Midgardsormr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    2,369

    Default

    I knew I'd seen a reference to the SIGGRAPH Carto Project a few weeks ago, but when this thread came up I couldn't find it, so I didn't mention it. Well, I found it again:
    http://www.siggraph.org/programs/carto

    The Carto Project is an ACM SIGGRAPH Special Project that explores how viewpoints and techniques from the computer graphics community can be effectively applied to cartographic and spatial data sets. The "Carto Project" is in collaboration with the International Cartographic Association's (ICA) Commission on Visualization and the GeoVRML Working Group of the Web 3D Consortium. The project seeks viewpoints from the computer graphics community on technology (including hardware and software) and techniques that will impact and can be applied to cartographic visualization.
    The information is pretty lean, but perhaps it offers some useful keywords for the search engines. They haven't posted anything from the last two conferences; I don't know if they had meetings. There is definitely a meeting scheduled this year, though, so hopefully the page will eventually have some new stuff on it.
    Bryan Ray, visual effects artist
    http://www.bryanray.name

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •