Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Your opinion on Style

  1. #1
    Guild Member jesuisbenjamin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    61

    Default Your opinion on Style

    Hi there,

    I am working on a map for a diplomacy game board. The map's style is adapted to other illustration found in the game such as this card illustration:

    Your opinion on Style-infantry.png

    So here in attachment you will find the map (work in progress). I am working on city names and as you can see, I am writing them on banners, above the city. There are two banners currently, one for London which has thicker edges and one for Amsterdam, with thinner edges. Which one do you think is most fitting the style of the map so far? I personally have the feeling Amsterdam's too thin, and looks too detailed in comparison to rough edges elsewhere.

    Do you think it will be OK to have banners all over?

    I intend to add some more illustrations in between (mountains, forests, rivers, various characters).

    Please let me know your opinion / feedback. Thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Your opinion on Style-map8.png  

  2. #2
      Lukc is offline
    Community Leader Gracious Donor Lukc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Lausanne, CH
    Posts
    1,506

    Default

    I'd find it hard to choose. I prefer the shape of the London banner, but the Amsterdam line thickness seems better.

  3. #3
      anstett is offline
    Guild Journeyer Gracious Donor
    Facebook Connected
    anstett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    211

    Default

    I would echo Lukc on this, the Amsterdam components feel better together but I like the shape of the London scroll.

    BOB
    We do not stop playing because we grow old.
    We grow old because we stop playing.

    www.dragonslayers-society.org

  4. #4
    Guild Member jesuisbenjamin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Well, there will be about 8 different shapes in total, otherwise it would look odd. So we agree on thickness, cool Thanks.

  5. #5
      tilt is offline
    Community Leader Facebook Connected tilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Trelleborg, Sweden
    Posts
    4,657
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I think, I'd go for something in between, the Amsterdam seems a bit thin, close to pixelating. However, I think having banner all over the map, might be a tad much - one way to test it is to just copy on banner all over to get a feel for it
    regs tilt
    :: My art on Deviant Art :: My mapping blog tilts fantasy maps :: My work Catapult - Perry & Gehrke - EasyTruckIT ::
    :: Finished Maps :: WIP Cartographia - Breakwater -Market -Lands of Twilight -Battle City :: Competion maps Iron Giant ::
    :: FREE Tiles - Compasses :: Other Taking a commision - Copyright & Creative Commons ::
    Works under CC licence unless mentioned otherwise

  6. #6
    Guild Member jesuisbenjamin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Ok, after doing a quick test, it becomes obvious the banner idea is not that great after all

    I could make them smaller, but that would not be OK on a board game. Although, after considerations, other games have ridiculously small names for their regions (eg. Diplomacy, Risk). So here is a try too at smaller banners.

    Anyway, perhaps the entire banner idea should not be used, so I tried banner free too.

    Any other suggestion on how to label the cities?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Your opinion on Style-map_no_banners.png   Your opinion on Style-map_banners_all_over.png   Your opinion on Style-map_small_banners_all_over.png  
    Last edited by jesuisbenjamin; 12-04-2011 at 07:22 PM. Reason: Added alternative labels

  7. #7
      atpollard is offline
    Guild Adept atpollard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    324

    Default

    Airports use 3 letter aberviations to identify them, so a short abreviation with a legend off to the side might work.

  8. #8
    Guild Master Gracious Donor Midgardsormr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    2,443

    Default

    The texture is not terribly strong, and the cities are reasonably well spaced out. Have you considered going without banners and just making the labels about the size that they would have been if they were on the banners? You might need a little bit of padding around them if they crossed a border line, especially where they cross coastlines. Your city density is roughly similar to that of Ticket to Ride: Europe, so a label size similar to that board would probably work out well for you.
    Bryan Ray, visual effects artist
    http://www.bryanray.name

  9. #9
      Lukc is offline
    Community Leader Gracious Donor Lukc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Lausanne, CH
    Posts
    1,506

    Default

    Or you could try stretch out the names through the whole province? Make them province names instead, obviating the need for labels? Just thinking here ...

  10. #10
    Guild Member jesuisbenjamin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Thanks for the feedback. I think the banner idea has to be dropped off.
    @Atpollard: it is technically OK to abbreviate, but that would really affect the atmosphere of the game. The map contributes to the role-playing and if the game were a taking place in modern times it would be fine I guess. This one is a 18th-19th Century cartoonish theme.
    @Lukc: I also had this idea indeed. Cities are favoured over regions, because they have less political meaning. Regions are often a-historical, especially with the silly boundaries I have made here. It was something that, even as a kid, I disliked about Risk, which came up with an unrealistic map. (It didn't stop it from being s success though). I will consider this option though.
    @Midgard: So yes, I think it's the best option so far. I've tried increasing enough so it does not need to overlap and so avoid padding. Some cities are written in water like Copenhagen, and it goes well. Other cities with longer names perhaps look a bit odd: Amsterdam, Edinburgh, Stockholm and Constantinople are such cases.

    What do you think?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Your opinion on Style-map_no_banners.png  
    Last edited by jesuisbenjamin; 12-05-2011 at 05:01 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •