Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Please give your honest opinion

  1. #1
    Guild Applicant
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4

    Wip Please give your honest opinion

    My 2 sisters says this map looks kind of like modern earth do you agree with them? any other comments or ideas are also welcomed.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Please give your honest opinion-mapkingdoms.jpg  

  2. #2
      Ryan K is offline
    Guild Journeyer Ryan K's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    221

    Default

    I don't agree with them.
    Regards,

    RK

  3. #3
      jtougas is offline
    Guild Master Facebook Connected jtougas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Wales Massachusetts
    Posts
    2,812
    Blog Entries
    27

    Default

    I can see where they would think that. It's close but different enough to be interesting.
    I am the breath of Dragons...The Song of Mountains...The Stories of Rivers....The Heart of Cities.... I am A Cartographer....

    Finished Maps
    Kingdom Of Shendenflar Campaign Setting (WIP)

    Everything I post is free for use and redistribution under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 licence, except where noted otherwise in the thread.

  4. #4
      jerriecan is offline
    Guild Apprentice
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    46

    Default

    The continents are laid out vaguely similar, but I'd have to say it's got more in common with a future Earth after many millions of years of continental drift. The Atlantic Ocean is only a sea, the Americas have merged, half of Africa has broken free and Siberia is underwater.

    I like it. I can't agree with your sisters, though.

  5. #5
      NeonKnight is offline
    Community Leader NeonKnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Surrey, Canada, EH!
    Posts
    5,025

    Default

    Is it similar? Yes. See the example below:
    Please give your honest opinion-mapkingdoms-copy.png


    Is that a bad thing? No. As mentioned above, maybe it is Earth, and Alternate earth a few million years in the past, as can be seen in this link: http://schools.cbe.ab.ca/b813/depts/...contenta1.html


    Again, nothing wrong with a fantasy map looking reminiscent of our World. Afterall, the world of Hyborea (Conan the Barbarian's World) sure looks an awful lot like Africa/Middle East/Inda all smooshed together to me.

    http://www.google.ca/images?um=1&hl=...&aqi=&aql=&oq=
    Daniel the Neon Knight: Campaign Cartographer User

    Never use a big word when a diminutive one will suffice!

    Any questions on CC3? Post them with CC3 in the Subject Line!
    MY 'FAMOUS' CC3 MAPS: Thunderspire; Pyramid of Shadows; King of the Trollhaunt Warrens; Demon Queen's Enclave

  6. #6
    Professional Artist RecklessEnthusiasm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    640

    Default

    A simple solution would be to flip the map horizontally. I always find myself doodling things with similar land-mass placement to earth, just because it looks right. I always remedy it by just flipping the map horizontally or rotating it 180 degrees.

  7. #7
    Guild Applicant
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    thanks for your replies i think i will keep this map and finish it.

  8. #8
      tilt is offline
    Community Leader Facebook Connected tilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Trelleborg, Sweden
    Posts
    4,657
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I'm in agreement, definite similarities but it doesn't really look like earth - to step further away you could move "india" or like RE suggested, flip some elements or the whole map ... nice work
    regs tilt
    :: My art on Deviant Art :: My mapping blog tilts fantasy maps :: My work Catapult - Perry & Gehrke - EasyTruckIT ::
    :: Finished Maps :: WIP Cartographia - Breakwater -Market -Lands of Twilight -Battle City :: Competion maps Iron Giant ::
    :: FREE Tiles - Compasses :: Other Taking a commision - Copyright & Creative Commons ::
    Works under CC licence unless mentioned otherwise

  9. #9
      Nathan is offline
    Guild Journeyer Nathan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    France
    Posts
    138

    Default

    Ok. So I choose the earth-look-a-like side.
    The first time I saw your map, I thought It was an alternate earth map with accelerated continental drift :p

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •