Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Opinions on this

  1. #1
    Gan
      Gan is offline
    Guild Member Gan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    64

    Default Opinions on this

    Opinions on this-santhia.jpg

    Here we go.

    I think I placed most of the rivers ok; I'm unhappy about the mountains. I tried to do them in all the styles I know, but couldn't get a nice effect. I didn't make the scale, and the map is not finished yet.

    So, what do you guys think about this piece of crap?

    Bye bye Cartographers!

  2. #2
      Freodin is offline
    Guild Adept Freodin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    314

    Default

    The mountains are too sparse. You could try to make them denser or to shadow their bases.

    But it is definitly not crap. Don't sell yourself short!

  3. #3
      Lukc is offline
    Community Leader Gracious Donor Lukc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Lausanne, CH
    Posts
    1,506

    Default

    Hey, it's not crap ... and the mountains aren't necessarily too sparse either. Just think back to some of those 16th, 17th century maps, where even the Alps are indicated by four, five little peaks. what I would do is actually kill off all the shadowing on the mountains and leave them just as black overlays, hinting at the vegetation therein ... though you'd need to add some white then as well or something. Hmm, ok, what I would really do is go off and hand-draw the mountains for a couple of hours, but hey ....

    Anyway, what was I saying? Oh yeah. I actually really like the texturing on the land and the seas. It's very subtle yet clear. Also the cities. As for the mountains - you'll work something out!

  4. #4
      cereth is offline
    Professional Artist cereth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    490

    Default

    It's a nice start and it's definitely not crap. Just keep it up and you'll get there.
    "Listen, strange women lyin' in ponds distributin' swords is no basis for a system of government."

    My Albums - My Portfolio

  5. #5
    Gan
      Gan is offline
    Guild Member Gan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    64

    Default

    Opinions on this-santhia.jpg

    I tried some effects on soft brushes. This crap (yes, it is) is what I've got.

    Now the solutions are: keep on this way (by adding more effects and/or adjusting these ones) or using symbol mountains (obviously with more precision and color).

    The problem is one: I did make the rest of the map with textures and just adding colors. Why doing the mountains in symbol-style?

    Have a nice day!

  6. #6
      tilt is offline
    Community Leader Facebook Connected tilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Trelleborg, Sweden
    Posts
    4,657
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    hi gan, I think the second map is much better, exactly cause the style of the mountains are more in sync with the rest of the map. Perhaps a little more depth (shadows) on the dark side of the mountains to make them stand out a bit more, but thats just my opinion. And I'd lighten the bright edge on the land a little to make it "mix" with the ocean more. But good work
    regs tilt
    :: My art on Deviant Art :: My mapping blog tilts fantasy maps :: My work Catapult - Perry & Gehrke - EasyTruckIT ::
    :: Finished Maps :: WIP Cartographia - Breakwater -Market -Lands of Twilight -Battle City :: Competion maps Iron Giant ::
    :: FREE Tiles - Compasses :: Other Taking a commision - Copyright & Creative Commons ::
    Works under CC licence unless mentioned otherwise

  7. #7
      Lukc is offline
    Community Leader Gracious Donor Lukc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Lausanne, CH
    Posts
    1,506

    Default

    I like the second mountains more as well!

  8. #8
      Freodin is offline
    Guild Adept Freodin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    314

    Default

    Seconded. The textured variant fits a lot better in your map than the symbol version. You could try to raise the contrast of the mountains a little... make the shadows a little darker. But it is quite good as it is.

  9. #9
    Gan
      Gan is offline
    Guild Member Gan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    64

    Default

    Opinions on this-santhia.jpg

    First of all, thanks for the tips!

    I don't know if this is good or not, but using these instead of the symbols looks better. Perhaps I should have used less fx on the mountains layer, I don't know... At the start I was going to make something similar to the Faerun map, but obviously I have no skills on that, and haven't even tried.

    I'm pretty sure I'm going to finish the map in this way. Thank guys.

  10. #10
      tilt is offline
    Community Leader Facebook Connected tilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Trelleborg, Sweden
    Posts
    4,657
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    even better mountains, still think the blue outline on the land masses is to bright though, but surely getting there
    regs tilt
    :: My art on Deviant Art :: My mapping blog tilts fantasy maps :: My work Catapult - Perry & Gehrke - EasyTruckIT ::
    :: Finished Maps :: WIP Cartographia - Breakwater -Market -Lands of Twilight -Battle City :: Competion maps Iron Giant ::
    :: FREE Tiles - Compasses :: Other Taking a commision - Copyright & Creative Commons ::
    Works under CC licence unless mentioned otherwise

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •