View Poll Results: Which of these styles do you think works best with my Old-school maps?

Voters
16. You may not vote on this poll
  • Option A works for me!

    5 31.25%
  • Option B all the way

    2 12.50%
  • Obviously C is the way to go

    8 50.00%
  • They all suck, try again!

    1 6.25%
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Need Opinion on Forest styles

  1. #1
      Malakor is offline
    Guild Apprentice Malakor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Georgia
    Posts
    44

    Question Need Opinion on Forest styles

    If you've time, look a the attached and tell me which of the three styles of forest you think would work best with my old-school map of the Kingdom (I don't know how to link to another thread)

    The mountains and hills are just there to show the type of mountains the forest would be used with.

    Thanks for any input.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Need Opinion on Forest styles-tree-tests.jpg  
    \"Some people never go crazy. What truly horrible lives they must lead.\"
    - Charles Bukowski

  2. #2
      Soixante is offline
    Guild Journeyer Soixante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    103

    Post

    I'd go with a smaller variant of C.

  3. #3
      Ascension is offline
    Community Leader Ascension's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    St. Charles, MO
    Posts
    8,216

    Post

    I'm probably with C as well...densely packed forest though B has it's merits being similar and A would work for a different, pseudo-hand-drawn style.
    If the radiance of a thousand suns was to burst at once into the sky, that would be like the splendor of the Mighty One...I am become Death, the Shatterer of worlds.
    -J. Robert Oppenheimer (father of the atom bomb) alluding to The Bhagavad Gita (Chapter 11, Verse 32)


    My Maps ~ My Brushes ~ My Tutorials ~ My Challenge Maps

  4. #4
      ravells is offline
    Community Leader Gracious Donor ravells's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    10,902

    Default

    I'm with 'A' if you're drawing lots of them which are going to be seen at a distance on the map. Lovely work!

  5. #5
    Community Leader Facebook Connected Steel General's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ft. Wayne, IN
    Posts
    9,464

    Default

    I like 'A' though I think the trunks need to be a bit small/thinner.
    My Finished Maps | My Challenge Maps | Ghoraja Juun, my largely stagnated campaign setting.

    Unless otherwise stated by me in the post, all work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.



  6. #6
      Nomadic is offline
    Professional Artist Nomadic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    The great northwest
    Posts
    353

    Default

    I would go with a smaller varient of C. It looks the best to me (it's just a little large).

  7. #7
      Wilduck is offline
    Guild Novice Wilduck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    8

    Post

    As it stands, I like C the best (although, like everyone else says, it needs to be a little smaller). I also like A, and earlier I saw a map that did the same type of thing, but had the closest outline of the forest drawn in individual trees. That style was cool then, and I think it would be cool now if you're already partial to A.

  8. #8
      Sigurd is offline
    Guild Artisan Sigurd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    880

    Post

    I like A for tropical trees and more dense stands of greenery.
    I like C for dense forest which is mostly more barren on the ground.

    I think I would like B if they were evergreens (I know a different shape) in colder regions with thinner forest.


    Sigurd.

    You should post a few different trees as brushes. You have a nice touch.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •