Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Free-Floating Elements in PS

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Free-Floating Elements in PS

Hi folks. I'm a rank novice, but I have had some experience with CCII.

I just began learning PS using Butch Curry's tutorials, and I miss being able to drop single map elements into my project, as I was able to do in CC.

I have been trying to create a single pine tree that can be pasted multiple times into a layer, and I can't seem to figure out a way. Brushing it on as a pattern isn't an option; I want exact placement of individual images, with colors preserved.

Can anyone recommend a method?

Community Leader Facebook Connected Ascension's Avatar

As a brush, it can't be done (unless the colors you want to preserve are grayscale...for that just increase the brush spacing). If you want color then you could open the color image, copy it, paste in the map, then make a whole lot of duplicates of that layer and then move them around. Usually that's not worth the effort. What most folks do is use GIMP or Paint Shop Pro as they do support the sort of thing that you're looking for...it's called an image tube or image hose.
    If the radiance of a thousand suns was to burst at once into the sky, that would be like the splendor of the Mighty One...I am become Death, the Shatterer of worlds.
    -J. Robert Oppenheimer (father of the atom bomb) alluding to The Bhagavad Gita (Chapter 11, Verse 32)

My Maps ~ My Brushes ~ My Tutorials ~ My Challenge Maps