Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to mapping and looking forward to it!

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default New to mapping and looking forward to it!

Hello,
    Im new to using a pc to create maps and Im glad I found this site/group. I'd like to create area maps to help give my groups reference to the world they are exploring but my Real interest is in creating dungeon maps for use with miniatures (1" square grid style for D&D). I dont know what program would work best for a noob to create the maps for miniatures though.
    So hi glad to be here and hope to chat more with the guild as time go's by.

Welcome to the guild. I had never done any digital work before I joined here myself a few months ago. There are lots of good tutorials but for starters you will need to decide what software you want to use. There is a thread here that goes into some of that. It sort of boils down to a couple things: 1) Price (free - skyhigh) and 2) Artistic talent.

If you are looking for free and have some talent I would say get the Gimp and have a go at some of the tutorials.

Also, take a look at some of the other artists around here and find what styles look good to you and then take a look at what software they are using.

Have fun, I know you will learn a ton and have some frustrations along the way. I still fight with getting what I want into the digital realm but I keep getting better at it so don't give up!
    “When it’s over and you look in the mirror, did you do the best that you were capable of? If so, the score does not matter. But if you find that you did your best you were capable of, you will find it to your liking.” -John Wooden

* Rivengard * My Finished Maps * My Challenge Maps * My deviantArt

Community Leader Facebook Connected Steel General's Avatar

Welcome Aboard!
    My Finished Maps | My Challenge Maps | Still poking around occasionally...