Thread: WIP - Remaking VERY old continent and regional maps

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Guild Member Facebook Connected wisemoon's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Wip WIP - Remaking VERY old continent and regional maps

I'm still kind of new to Cartographers' Guild. I've been posting on the Tutorials forum, but figured I might get more rep for those if people could actually see what I'm working on!

So...I'm running my first D&D game (as DM, I've been playing for...a really long time), and for the setting I decided to develop these old maps I made in high school (over 20 years ago). I have been trying to learn how to use Fractal Mapper, so I'm starting the remake in FM7. I'm also learning how to use GIMP, so eventually I might do the maps in two different styles. Here is the original continent map:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Originalscan_CampaignMap_Demetia.jpg 
Views:	801 
Size:	137.7 KB 
ID:	25382
    The original name for the continent was Demetae; I've decided to change it to Demetia. Here is a pass at redoing the continent (this is just the outline so far):

Name:	FM7_OutlineDemetia.jpg 
Views:	212 
Size:	14.8 KB 
ID:	25381

I've just started learning how to use this program so it's been a kind of frustrating process, since I'm not starting from scratch really, I'm trying to recreate something very specific. Some friends showed me how to use an existing image file as a background, so that's what I did to create the outline above. The only problem is, the background doesn't get saved with the file. I don't understand that, maybe I'm doing something wrong. The other problem with the outline above is that I used a combination of free-hand lines and fractally generated lines. So the program doesn't see it as one complete object, meaning that I can't do a color fill on it. I'm probably going to have to do it over with either one method or the other, so it all connects up.