Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My first map... (yet to be named)

Guild Novice

Wip My first map... (yet to be named)

I'm new to cartography, new to photoshop, new to DMing, and new to DnD. I've got a lot to learn, but I am enjoying it quite a bit. This is my first map done in an effort to start a story for a campaign. I followed Ascension's atlas style tutorial, and after a few false starts, I am finally getting to a point where I think it's looking acceptable. Feedback and critiques will be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks for looking!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	UNK WIP1.jpg 
Views:	113 
Size:	340.9 KB 
ID:	25520  

Community Leader Guild Sponsor Gidde's Avatar

Welcome! I think you'll have fun with all of your new hobbies, they enrich each other beautifully Good work with Ascension's tut there, looks great for a first map. The only suggestion I'd offer is to tone down your text a little. It's a bit overpowering as is.

Administrator Facebook Connected Diamond's Avatar

Sure looks a heck of a lot better than my first try with that tut! I like the landmass layout; looks kind of like a broken hand.

The only things that jump out at me as 'off' are, like Gidde mentioned, the overwhelming-ness of the text, and the continental shelf - in places in looks like it's reversed, as if the landmass is at the bottom of the ocean, and the shelf is actually a cliff instead leading down to the land.

Community Leader Facebook Connected tilt's Avatar
    Blog Entries

thats a good start, and yep - the lettering is a bit overpovering so lighten them up a bit ... and look forward to many good years with D&D, I've been playing 30 years myself
    regs tilt
    :: My DnD page Encounter Depot free stuff for your game :: My work page Catapult ::
    :: Finished Maps :: Competion maps - The Island of Dr. Rorshach ::
    :: FREE Tiles - Compasses :: Other Taking a commision - Copyright & Creative Commons ::