Thread: Printing to an 8.5" x 11" in DD3

Guild Applicant

Question Printing to an 8.5" x 11" in DD3

Hey all,

I am a CC3/DD3 newbie user. I have gone through the tutorials that I have found on using the software and it has helped, however I am running into an issue. I have a map created that I want to use as a battle map for my next game. I created it as a 45' x 55' area, with each square being the standard 5' space. When I go to print the map, I can not for the life of me figure out how to print it out across multiple pages so that each square on the grid is exactly 1" in size (the standard for the map pieces). Can anyone help me out with this? I know that this map will span multiple pages and I am fine with connecting them together myself, I just need to get it printed out at the size where I can use my miniatures on it for battles.

Thanks!
    kenundrum

Community Leader Guild Sponsor Gidde's Avatar

This is one of the few things I regularly use CC for (although keep in mind I'm using CC2 so the process may be a bit different). The key is to uncheck "fit to page" and to check "scale factor". Then you've got to do the math as to how many pages this will span, and enter the correct number of pages under the "Tiling:" section. Then it should print perfectly across pages for you.

Guild Applicant

Oh, so THAT is what the tiling thing is all about... you know that is the one thing that is NOT explained in the help file for printing, LOL! I will test this out and see what happens. If it doesn't work, I'll throw up more details. Thanks!

Community Leader Guild Sponsor Gidde's Avatar

If that doesn't work, I just found a program through another thread called PosteRazor that is free and will chop up your image file. Probably worth checking out

Super easy.

Under Print, the Third Box, SCALING needs to be set for SCALE FACTOR and for paper distance 1" = Drawing Distance 5' (assuming of course the standard 1 inch = 5 feet).