Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: CC3 Lighting Effects and Exporting to .jpg

  1. #1
    Guild Journeyer Wonko the Sane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Regina, SK, Canada
    Posts
    148

    Default CC3 Lighting Effects and Exporting to .jpg

    Below are 2 jpegs, each of the same map. The first has no lighting effects applied, and looks ok. The second is with lighting effects applied, and looks not so ok.
    I've also attached a screenshot of how the map with lighting looks in CC3 before I export it (as a rectangular section .jpg)...it's fine.
    The light points are the statues and the weird looking orb on the right side.

    Does anyone know why I end up with it looking like 3 separate sections when I export it?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	D4 - Emperor of Bones (100 px, No Grid).JPG 
Views:	84 
Size:	775.5 KB 
ID:	25840   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	D4 - Emperor of Bones (100 px, Lighting, No Grid).JPG 
Views:	88 
Size:	623.2 KB 
ID:	25839   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	D4 Screenshot.jpg 
Views:	90 
Size:	189.4 KB 
ID:	25838  

  2. #2
    Software Dev/Rep Gracious Donor waldronate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The High Desert
    Posts
    1,737

    Default

    It looks like you're getting three sections because CC3 calculates the map in three sections (or however many sections are appropriate for its algorithm based on map size). Unfortunately, the lighting computations only work within each section. It's a limitation of the lighting filters. The limitation is that the filters assume that they have all the information that they need when it's time to compute the shadows for the lighting, but CC3 does the multiple band output then that assumption gets violated. Note that the assumption is perfectly valid for drawings without filters or for drawings with only local-area filters; it's the filters that need global information that have problems.

  3. #3
    Guild Journeyer Wonko the Sane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Regina, SK, Canada
    Posts
    148

    Default

    Thanks for the quick reply.
    I've noticed that if I drop the resolution to say, 50 px, it only takes 1 "pass" to render the jpg, and the lighting works although there is a loss of detail when blown up.
    I guess I have to decide between detail or lighting effects. Sigh.

  4. #4
    Community Leader NeonKnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Surrey, Canada, EH!
    Posts
    5,025

    Default

    Have you tried the save as PNG Option? As well as increasing the Image Size?
    Daniel the Neon Knight: Campaign Cartographer User

    Never use a big word when a diminutive one will suffice!

    Any questions on CC3? Post them with CC3 in the Subject Line!
    MY 'FAMOUS' CC3 MAPS: Thunderspire; Pyramid of Shadows; King of the Trollhaunt Warrens; Demon Queen's Enclave

  5. #5
    Guild Journeyer Wonko the Sane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Regina, SK, Canada
    Posts
    148

    Default

    The .png option nets the same results. Making the image size bigger results in a higher number of passes to render, and more "stripes" across the image.

  6. #6
    Community Leader NeonKnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Surrey, Canada, EH!
    Posts
    5,025

    Default

    What about.........printing to a PDF file?
    Daniel the Neon Knight: Campaign Cartographer User

    Never use a big word when a diminutive one will suffice!

    Any questions on CC3? Post them with CC3 in the Subject Line!
    MY 'FAMOUS' CC3 MAPS: Thunderspire; Pyramid of Shadows; King of the Trollhaunt Warrens; Demon Queen's Enclave

  7. #7
    Guild Journeyer Wonko the Sane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Regina, SK, Canada
    Posts
    148

    Default

    That seems to work, however all of the curves are quite jagged at 100 dpi...it's rather ugly compared to a 100 dpi jpeg:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails D4 - Emperor of Bones.pdf  

  8. #8
    Community Leader NeonKnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Surrey, Canada, EH!
    Posts
    5,025

    Default

    What about at a higher DPI then?
    Daniel the Neon Knight: Campaign Cartographer User

    Never use a big word when a diminutive one will suffice!

    Any questions on CC3? Post them with CC3 in the Subject Line!
    MY 'FAMOUS' CC3 MAPS: Thunderspire; Pyramid of Shadows; King of the Trollhaunt Warrens; Demon Queen's Enclave

  9. #9
    Guild Journeyer Wonko the Sane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Regina, SK, Canada
    Posts
    148

    Default

    After figuring out how to get a) Get a custom "paper" size set up for Windows 2 inches wider and higher than my map, and b) make PDF Creator work...
    SUCCESS!

    I had some trouble with a "moire" effect when printing to a 300 dpi .pdf than saving as a 100 dpi jpeg, but I discovered that if I print to 300 dpi, save as a 300 dpi jpeg (both in PDF Creator), and THEN convert it to 100 dpi (with any decent image editing program), the moire effect is drastically reduced. (Upon further investigation, the moire effect only occurs at the outer edges of really large-radius lights)

    Examples attached.

    Thanks!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	D4 - Emperor of Bones Moire.jpg 
Views:	101 
Size:	2.33 MB 
ID:	25913   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	D4 - Emperor of Bones No Less, No Moire.jpg 
Views:	78 
Size:	353.0 KB 
ID:	25914  

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •